We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here they have bedbugs!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Altoona

Comfort Inn Altoona
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Altoona to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Altoona
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2101 Adventureland Drive, Altoona, IA 50009 (Formerly Altoona Settle Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Altoona
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't stay here they have bedbugs!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

planned to stay 2 nites. Checked immediately upon checkin for bedbugs and did not find any or signs of but felt like I was getting bit in the middle if the night anditching. Pulled bavk comforter in the morning and one was crawling on the bed. Caught it with the sticky part if a bandaid took it down to front desk and the clerk had the audacity to insinuate that WE brought them, even though she said Orkin guy had been there just last week. They comped my one nite and said theyd move me down the hall! Uh NO!! The hallway floor also felt like it was going to fall in. Beds uncomfortable, rooms outdated, furniture filthy.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loretta L, Manager at Comfort Inn Altoona, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
We here at Settle Inn Altoona take all insect issues serious. We get them brought in from nature. We always check the room out three times after an issue has been brought to our attention. First the manager and head housekeeper check the room, with tearing the bed completely apart and check all areas bugs can hide, that investigation showed nothing. Then the maintenance department goes through the room, also found nothing. Then we always have our pest control company go through the room as per their standards, they also found nothing to treat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    19
    13
    11
    15
See reviews for
16
25
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Batavia, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We have stayed at the Settle Inn before. We stayed in the Vineyards King Whirlpool Suite Saturday evening. The price was wonderful. The room was elegant. The bed was very soft and comfortable The room was perfectly WARM!The staff is very nice. Everything is very clean with the exception of the Fake grapes hanging on the walls...they were quite dusty. The Jacuzzi tub felt great after being out in the winter weather. Very close to Prairie Meadows Race Track and Casino. We were awakened at 5:30 am, however, as the the room next door decided to fill and use the Jacuzzi. They are very noisy! Could use some sound insulation between the walls of the tubs.The breakfast is ok. Sausage Gravy,waffles,cereal, yogurt,, toast, bagels, muffins. We will be staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loretta L, Manager at Comfort Inn Altoona, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you Melissa for taking time out of your day to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay. We are going into a renovation stage pretty soon, I will let them know of your suggestion about the whirlpool rooms. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I've stayed at this location 3 or 4 times. Breakfast provided helps me to get on the road in good order. Each time gets worse I stay as their seems to be no maintenance. Broken lamp shades, for example. VERY reasonable price, however.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loretta L, Manager at Comfort Inn Altoona, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for writing a review on us. We would like to get your concerns with our rooms corrected. Please call me at 515-967-7888 so we can go over the rooms you have had, and the exact issue with each room. We need your input so we can get our housekeepers trained to do a better job at spotting these maintenance issues. Your input is very valuable on the continuing operations of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South English, Iowa, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I were looking for an inexpensive place to stay. After searching all over the internet for somewhere close to Adventureland, we found Settle Inn. We were VERY impressed by the pictures and the price was cheaper than most around there so I did a 14 day advance reservation to get around $20 off of each night. It ended up being very affordable. Upon arrival we gave the clerk our confirmation number and were checked in VERY quickly. When we got to our room, we were very impressed once again, it was clean, well stocked with linens, etc. Best of all it was very quiet, and there were children right next door to us and we only heard them in the hallway. The pool was nice, not huge, but war, not freezing and the hot tub was absolutely amazing, even equiped with handicap lifts for both . The only negative either one of us could find was there wan't a fridge in our room. BIG DEAL! We had our cooler and that was plenty. The entire staff was super friendly, the housekeeper who saw us the morning before remembered us when we were in the lobby. parking lot was very well lit. We will be going back again, only this time I think we will get a suite! We very much reccomend this hotel!

Room Tip: If able, do your homework and you may be able to get a room that has a fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loretta L, Manager at Comfort Inn Altoona, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. We will be getting new furniture in the near future. We should be getting refrigerators and microwaves during phase two of our updating mission. Please call when you will be in the area we would love to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed there when we went to adventureland. The location was nice and close to the amusement park. The kids loved the castle theme outside of the hotel and were treated really well by staff. The breakfast was good. The room smelled a little funny, but other than that it was great. Also, there wasn't a fridge in the room, but since we only stayed one night it wasn't a big deal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loretta L, Manager at Comfort Inn Altoona, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We have started updating rooms, yet we started with TV's and getting HD ready. Once that project is complete then phase two is furniture which will include microwaves and refrigerators. Please call us when any travels bring you our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

we were directed to this hotel from the casino across the street. we walked in and while we had to wait for assistance as the girl was on the phone with other customers, she was very friendly and helpful and accommodating as we didn't have a reservation. the room was clean, comfortable and quiet. and priced very reasonable!! the casino and horse track are across the street and Adventureland was close too!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loretta L, Manager at Comfort Inn Altoona, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for writing a review. The casino and us always try to help each other out. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please look us up when your future travels bring you to the Des Moines/Altoona Iowa area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stopped at the Settle Inn while passing through heading west. Nice clean room, and very quiet. Breakfast selection was decent and the staff were friendly. The parking lot was lit like the sun at night which I liked since we had a lot of stuff in the car.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loretta L, Manager at Comfort Inn Altoona, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for finding us, and taking time to write this review. We are here to fulfill your housing needs when you are in our area. Give us a call the next time your travels bring you our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altoona
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Altoona Inn
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altoona - Des Moines
0.3 mi away
Prairie Meadows Hotel
Prairie Meadows Hotel
#1 of 7 in Altoona
4.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Ankeny
5.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#24 of 46 in Des Moines
3.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Pleasant Hill
4.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Altoona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Altoona

Address: 2101 Adventureland Drive, Altoona, IA 50009 (Formerly Altoona Settle Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Altoona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Altoona 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated Hotel. We have 67 non-smoking rooms. Indoor heated pool, free wi-fi. Breakfast which includes scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, fruit, yogury, toast , bagels, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn Altoona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altoona Settle Hotel Altoona
Comfort Inn Altoona Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Altoona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.