We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BED BUGS” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Altoona Settle Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Altoona Settle Inn to your Saves list
Altoona Settle Inn
2101 Adventureland Drive, Altoona, IA 50009   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Altoona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“BED BUGS”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

Unbelievable!!! Never would have thought this chain of hotel would allow its rooms to get so run down.floor was weak in hall way.top blanket was hairy on bottom side an smelled like sex..waking up to having itch finding bugs wasnt the way we wanted to end our day. Moved to better hotel.someone needs to fire housekeeping!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loretta L, General Manager at Altoona Settle Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
We here at the Settle Inn take all feedback from our guests very serious.
Our desk clerk, Manager, Maintenance, plus pest control company have
tore the room apart and investigated all furnishings without finding any
bugs.

Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    15
    10
    8
    14
See reviews for
13
19
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

The hospitality was welcoming and helpful. We were grateful for recommendation of pizza delivery service which was surprisingly good. The theme room was awesome. Bed was comfortable and the space to move around generous. The continental breakfast was super as well. Would go back and definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly, Iowa
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

we stay about once a year and always have a nice stay. pool/spa, close to Adventure land and casino so busy in the summer months. easy to find yet a little off the traffic line.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

very good service room clean it is the motel we stay at all the time

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

This place is reviewed under both Settle Inn Altoona and Altoona Settle Inn, with very different comments. Be sure to read both. I hope I never see this place again, because in my mind it's a dump and the space in the rooms (bath and bedroom) sucks big time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Altoona hotels

Martell
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

The place is nice, couple of draw backs we travel with a small dog the place is pet friendly but you
have to take a smoking room with pets (cough cough),they have a hot tub and pool but won't let you take any drinks in the hot tub/pool area. They are close to casino and plenty of places to eat.
I would stay again but being able to have a beer in the hot tub and not smelling stale smoke all night
would be a plus.

Room Tip: Third floor is smoking rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loomis, Nebraska, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Stayed just for 1 night on my way through, but I found the room and the staff to be very pleasant. Breakfast was delicious and I was satisfied with my stay. For the price - very reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Altoona Settle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altoona Settle Inn

Address: 2101 Adventureland Drive, Altoona, IA 50009
Location: United States > Iowa > Altoona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Altoona Settle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altoona Settle Hotel Altoona
Altoona Settle Inn Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altoona Settle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.