We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not My Choice” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Altoona Settle Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Altoona Settle Inn to your Saves list
Altoona Settle Inn
2101 Adventureland Drive, Altoona, IA 50009   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Altoona
Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not My Choice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Been there twice - both times when a friend makes the reservation and thinks it's a great place. Room is small - 2 double beds ( who has double beds anymore? ) - bathroom is impossibly small - room is dirty - grossly overpriced at $80 per night for 3. I hope I never see it again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    15
    10
    8
    14
See reviews for
13
19
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011 via mobile

My wife and three small children and I stayed here while traveling. The room was cleaned and smelled good. Bathroom was clean and well stocked. The beds were plenty comfortable. Staff was very helpful and knowledgable about area restaurants for our family and very accommodating. Downsides were- bathroom fan was noisy until it warmed up (4-5min), lights in lot were very bright, tv was on the small side. But the breakfast and pool were great! We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

After reading some of the reviews here, I wondered if we made a poor choice with our reservation, but were pleasantly suprized. This hotel is not "dirty, disgusting, etc." We found the rooms to be very clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. The pool was very nice and the continental breakfast was good and well stocked. There were a couple negatives, the parking lot lights are very bright and shined into our window. We had to get creative with the shades to block the light. Also the room seemed damp, and the air conditioner did not clear this until morning. Otherwise we were satisfied with the stay and would stop here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We live near Des Moines and just wanted to get away for the weekend,we would've been better off to just stay home!!! The hotel is in need of a overall update!! We have never stayed at a Settle Inn,and will never again! I should've read the reviews and saved some money! If you like to relax in the hot tub or pool area with a beer,sorry the old hag at the front desk will come take it away from you! Never stayed at a hotel where this would be acceptable behavior from staff!! This place is so far from the norm,it might be better than sleeping in your car IDK!! So if you want to stay in Altoona stay at Adventure land Inn,if it is full move on down the road!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trystanlynn
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

We got the jungle room and it was cheesetastic (cheesy and fantastic)! It was clean and the bed was comfortable (even the pillows were nice). The Whirl Pool was a little loud but otherwise ok. We got there a half hour early and they let us check in early which was nice. One of the staff there was really nice but the other lady was kind of rude. Oh and you can't have anything at all to drink in the pool area which sucked! The theme suite was HUGE and it was so much fun in there! Will definately go back again just so long as extra charges don't show up on my credit card as suggested by another reviewer!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GI,NE
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

This hotel is disgusting... everything is old and does not match,looks like everything was bought at rummage. how they comply with settle in chain is a wonder. we have stayed at others and they are wonderful. our room smelled and carpet was dirty. we checked in, went up to our room and then got the heck out it was so icky!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

This is a typical Holiday Inn Express which means a reasonably comfortable and clean room close to a major highway. The room was adequate for my purposes and the staff were friendly. As others have mentioned, the free breakfast buffet did not seem well kept up with. I went in fairly early and they were out of scrambled eggs. I figured I could sip a cup of coffee and someone would be by to replenish the eggs. I finished my coffee and nobody showed up so I passed on the breakfast although I could have had cold cereal, toast and juice.
I suspect that their volume varies greatly depending upon what is going on at the nearby attractions like the theme park and racetrack/casino. This is an average and adequate hotel for business travel or if you need a room close to the nearby attractions.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Altoona Settle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altoona Settle Inn

Address: 2101 Adventureland Drive, Altoona, IA 50009
Location: United States > Iowa > Altoona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Altoona Settle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altoona Settle Hotel Altoona
Altoona Settle Inn Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altoona Settle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.