We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Altoona Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Altoona Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Altoona Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 34th Ave NW, Altoona, IA 50009 (Formerly Heartland Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Altoona
GreenLeadersBronze level
Richton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Quiet stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is a very quiet and peaceful motel, service is good and plenty of restaurants in short drive. I recommend Jethro's BBQ about 1 mile away from motel. Also, shopping center just blocks away. Front desk staff is very helpful in directing you to what you need

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWManagers, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Altoona Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a great review. Jethro's BBQ is one of my favorite places to send people. And the shopping centers are always a nice touch too! I am happy to hear it was a nice and peacful stay for you and look forward to seeing you when you are in the area again.
Robyn Smith- General Manager Best Western PLUS Altoona Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    38
    27
    4
    4
See reviews for
48
19
8
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wrentham, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Very consistant with other great Best Western visits. Nice rooms, clean bathroom, comfortable beds, good hot brerakfast, friendly staff. Close to attractions (but we were just passing thru). short drive off highway. Driveway not clearly marked when dark outside (it was late & we were tired)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWManagers, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Altoona Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We would like to thank you for the taking the time to post a review on our hotel. We appreciate all the nice comments and hopefully next time you are in the area, you can enjoy some of the wonderful attractions we do have located so very close to us. Have a wonderful day!!
Robyn Smith- General Manager Best WesternPLUS Altoona Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Overall the hotel was satisfactory. Staff was very accommodating and pleasant. Rooms were clean. Breakfast was plentiful. Pool area was clean, only disappointment in that area was the indication by website and registration staff that there was a hot tub. Unfortunately that has been cemented over and no longer exists.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWManagers, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Altoona Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review about our hotel. I would like to apologize for the misinformation you were given about us having the hot tub in the pool area. I do, however, have hot tub suites available which i would be happy to accomadate you with next time you are traveling in the area. Have a great day!
Robyn Smith- General Manager Best Western PLUS Altoona Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIsconsin
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had driven as far as our energy could take us. We wanted to get East past Des Moines, knowing Best Western should be a better motel we called and booked there. Nothing special, but not bad at all, courteous staff, good breakfast. It is easy to locate when getting dark. Carts to move luggage up to 2nd floor, appreciated. Would stay again if needed.

Room Tip: Carts available for upper floors, otherwise if you have lots of luggage, may prefer 1st floor, small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWManagers, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Altoona Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We would like to thank you for posting your review about the Best Western PLUS. We are all happy to hear that you were able to find us quickly and you enjoyed our wonderful breakfast. We hope to see you again in the future.
Robyn Smith- General Manager Best Western PLUS Altoona Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Got a decent enough rate. No huge problems. When we called they said there is a shuttle to the nearby casino. After we were checked in and came down for the shuttle, they informed us it wasn't operating for the day. That was disappointing.

Hotel stay was good enough. Room was clean and breakfast in the morning is what you'd expect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWManagers, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Altoona Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for posting your review about our hotel. I would like to apologize for the inconvience with the Prairie Meadows Casino shuttle not running that day. It can be very frustrating when you think it's available, then at the last minute, then are not running it. I hope that you were able to enjoy your stay with us and look forward to seeing you in the future.
Robyn Smith-General Manager Best Western PLUS Altoona Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora Nebraska, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Nice staff...unclean bathrooms...fixtures actually fell apart in bathrooms and were not fixed after I reported them to management. Breakfast staff was not prepared for number of patrons in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWManagers, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Altoona Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We would like to apologize for your unpleasant stay with us here at the Best Western PLUS. We do appreciate all of your feedback. I would like to earn your business and your trust back. Please contact me directly at the hotel if you would like to pursue this. Thank you and have a great day.
Robyn Smith- General Manager Best Western PLUS Altoona Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Our family just spent the last week at this Best Western. We really liked the room, the staff, and the fact that it was right across the street from Adventureland. Would definitely recommend it to anyone and will be staying there again next year!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWManagers, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Altoona Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments you have posted on your review about our hotel staff and rooms. We strive to make every experience here a great one. We are so happy we could do that for you and your family. The walk over to Adventureland Park does make it very convienent. We look forward to taking care of you and yours next year.
Robyn Smith- General Manager Best Western PLUS Altoona Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Altoona Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Altoona Inn

Address: 300 34th Ave NW, Altoona, IA 50009 (Formerly Heartland Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Altoona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Altoona Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Altoona Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Altoona Hotel Altoona
Heartland Hotel Altoona
BEST WESTERN PLUS Altoona Inn Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Altoona Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.