We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean facility with wonderful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Lodge & Suites Algona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added AmericInn Lodge & Suites Algona to your Saves list
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Algona
600 Hwy 18 West, Algona, IA 50511   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Algona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Des Moines, Iowa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Clean facility with wonderful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I recently stayed at Americinn in Algona for work. I was hesitant because it's in a small town. Fortunately, I was pleasantly surprised. The room was well maintained, the beds had white sheets and a comforter (I like white because you can tell whether the bedding is clean) and had a pleasant smell. I was on the second floor and was hoping to use an elevator so I wouldn't have to strain to pull my luggage up the stairs. Unfortunately, they don't have an elevator, but there really weren't that many stairs. Everything in the room worked as it should. The hotel is situated close to a Dollar General, several fast food establishments, Kmart, a Hy-Vee and an Anytime Fitness (the hotel doesn't offer a fitness room, rather you get a pass to Anytime Fitness). Although I didn't use the pool or hot tub, they were clean and well maintained. Staff was friendly and accommodating. The parking lot is new, which was great! I will definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the north have a pleasant view of a pasture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    16
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
17
10
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Creston, Iowa, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Was a very clean hotel. they moved the breakfast area to its own room, much better than having it in the lobby.
The room was clean and spacious and everything we needed for a one night stay.
The one drawback is the front doors. I wish they would be automatic. It would be so much easier to walk in to the lobby. When your hands are full with luggage and packages, its a hassle opening the door.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isanti, Minnesota, USA via London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed one night - July 19th - staff was very pleasant- provided information about Algona and surrounding area and several options for " quick" supper that were close by. Suite was clean, comfortable - very happy to get in on short notice, Ample breakfast choices, pool clean and not busy.

Only negatives - no elevator - our room was on second floor, room AC very loud as it kicked on and off all night. Also had the noise from the pool pump equipment kicking on and off most of the night too! Not the best night sleep after a long drive. Would stay again but would ask for room away from area and equipment.

Room Tip: Check on pool equipment location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, MN
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I'm well acquainted w/ this hotel and have stayed there many times over the years. The pool and whirlpool/hottub are usually very clean. The free breakfast has definitely been upgraded to include some nice protein options (cheesy eggs, sausage) instead of the usual carb heavy food (which is still served = nice to have options).

The room we stayed in this most recent time has a king bed w/ fireplace, jacuzzi tub and large flat screen TV in 1 room and a sleeper sofa (double) w/ own TV in adjacent room = great for separating 1-2 young kids w/ earlier bedtimes than the parents.

However, the key cards are extremely sensitive and we had to constantly get ours re-keyed. 2 outlets in the room were dead. The toilet was crazy sensitive and prone to clogging. The AC in the front sleeper sofa room was inadequate/not working properly. The AC and return air vent in the king bed room were SUPER noisy (my husband did a decibel level check = same level as driving down a highway in a car w/ windows open) - but its a white noise = didn't bother me too much.

All the rooms I've stayed in over the years seem to be nicely soundproofed (good thing too considering my previous sentence).

Staff is quite friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed here July 1-3, 2013. New dining room for self service breakfast was opened during our stay...a great improvement over old one. Rooms were nice, clean and quiet. Only problem was no elevator or lift available. Next time our older couple will ask for downstairs room. Checkout easy. Fresh cookies were a treat and very good.

Room Tip: room 230 at end of hall and very quiet. exit stairs close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Lake, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My Husband and I checked in on June 14 for 1 night. Being a retired GM for AmericInn, I was really disappointed in the Front Desk. First of all we stood there for awhile with no recognition while there was a young lady standing there being trained. But the gal that checked us in had no name tag on and was very rude. She would answer the phone without saying anything to us and make a full reservation instead of putting them on hold or getting there name and number and letting them know she would be returning there call within 15 min. This didn't happen once another call came in and it was about another employee and she continued to talk to them leaving us standing there. This was really rude of her to do and when I finally confronted her about checking in the paying guest that is standing in front of her and that she should have handled the calls in a different manner she said she wasn't trained that way. Well in my book she made it clear that the guest that have made a reservation and are checking in with the money come in 2nd and customers that are calling in to make a reservation that they could cancel come 1st in her book. Leaving us to not being felt as though we are important... Rest of the hotel is absolutely beautiful, Kudos to the Housekeepers and Maintenance.... Front Desk needs serious Customer Service training...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Had a nice breakfast, and a nice clean hotel. Had a lot of construction going on, and I imagine once construction is done the space issue during breakfast will be better. The hotel rooms were very nice, the room was clean and very spacious. Showers had good water pressure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Algona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Algona

Address: 600 Hwy 18 West, Algona, IA 50511
Location: United States > Iowa > Algona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Algona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AmericInn Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Algona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Algona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Lodge & Suites Algona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.