We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible place” 2 of 5 stars
Review of LongHorn Steakhouse

LongHorn Steakhouse
10107 E Us Highway 36, Avon, IN 46123-7429
317-271-5200
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 88 Restaurants in Avon
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Plainfield, Indiana
2 reviews
“Horrible place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I came in and told I would be served by someone and a different waiter came to my table. I got an appetizer which was timely and delicious but when me and my friend got our main course, everything turned out wrong. Our steaks were cooked wrong and he got mashed potatoes when he clearly asked for a potato. Everything was very expensive and not good since it wasn't what we asked for. Our ceasar salads had a little, if any ceasar on them. Just green leaves. To top it off, we didn't get a refill for almost 10 minutes when we had empty drinks. The waiter left us a togo box half way through our meal which confused us. I will NEVER go back

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    17
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indiana, USA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Disappointing- slow and stingy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We went to Longhorn as a group of 10 for a family birthday party (restaurant chosen by the birthday man-- his favorite). We didn't mind the 20 or so minute wait to get a table during the busy Sunday lunch hour, as that was expected. What we DID mind-- it took 1 hour 45 minutes to have our meal, with no appetizers and no desserts.

We had two wait staff, one for each side of the table, although sometimes it was hard to find either of them. It took more time to get our food than I had ever experienced at Longhorn-- we were seated at 1pm, and didn't receive our main course until almost 2pm. When the bills filnally came around 2:25, it took another 10-15 minutes for the waiter to come back to get them before we could get our change.

Of course with a group of 10 we didn't expect the usual 60-70 minute time frame it would take with a smaller group of 2 or 4 people. But almost 2 hours???

As for my food, I am disappointed in Longhorn's stinginess considering their prices have continued to go up. My salad had very little cheese, and my so-called loaded baked potato had about 4 bacon bits and 10 pieces of shredded cheese. Come on.

Disappointing. None of the food was bad-- in fact, most peoples' was good. But the experience was lacking.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, Indiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Steaks & Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have never left this restaurant disappointed. In a slew of steakhouse chains Longhorn wins every time. Excellent service, great steaks, and a cool western motif to boot! My personal favorite is their Prime Rib-some of the best I've tasted and at a decent price.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
126 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Godo food--okay on the service. The prices are high but they do offer deals from time to time. Wiuhout a deal it is over the top expensive!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Indiana
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“don't go when packed!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

the food came out wrong, took forever to get, when this is place is crowded they must get all flustered in the back, and screw everything thing up. I ordered a steak medium well, and it came out rare. my husband ordered his medium, and it came out very well. The manager's excuse was that they had a lot of customers....well if you can't do your job w/ many customer's then you need to get rid of half the tables in there so your customers get the food they are expecting. Also very expensive for having our stuff screwed up.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LongHorn Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to LongHorn Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LongHorn Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.