We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was good, filthy bathroom and cockroaches running accross the bar, not so good..” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Auburn's Town Tavern

Auburn's Town Tavern
1343 S Main St, Auburn, IN 46706-2921
260-925-0555
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 45 Restaurants in Auburn
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Auburn, IN
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Food was good, filthy bathroom and cockroaches running accross the bar, not so good..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

I have lived in this area for over fifteen years, and had never been to the Auburn Town Tavern. I had heard that the fish was wonderful, but the owner was very negligent of the property. I had some friends come to visit, and they had read an article in, I believe Midwest Living, about how wonderful the fish was. This was the first and the last time I will visit the Town Tavern. Don't get me wrong the fish was wonderful and the service was great! There were two very cute and sweet girls working (Sarah and Joy). That was the best part of the experience. They both introduced themselves and made us feel very welcome.
The outside of the restaurant was in very bad condition. The lights were burnt out on the sign in the front and it looked like they were doing construction in the front room. The ladies bathroom was very dirty and had a foul smell. The kitchen is open and you can see right in. It was the dirtiest kitchen I had ever seen! Two things about a restaurant that should meet expectations are the kitchen and bathrooms, which neither was up to par.
Although the fish was great and the service was impeccable, I would not recommend to a friend to visit this restaurant. Upon paying, a cockroach walked across the top of the bar!!! Neither one of the girls seemed to be surprised, that is a problem. I can honestly say, I do not know how the place stays in business.
In one sentence, great girls, great fish, but unfortunately, owners that have zero pride in their business.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    11
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kokomo, Indiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

The Auburn's Town Tavern has the best food ever! The Reuben was absolutely delicious! My husband ate only a small portion of the gigantic breaded tenderlion. If you leave hungry there is a problem. The waitress was a delight! The restaurant is in the front and the bar is in the back. I can't wait to go back again! :)

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good home cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We all had the fish fry. Breaded Alaskan Pollock. Good quantity of food for a reasonable price. Interior is what you would expect in a small town cafe.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, South Carolina
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent out of the way gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We saw an article on this restaurant in Mid-West Living Magazine, and decided to give it a try. It is a little out of the way and off the beaten path.

Small clean facility with a non-smoking dinning area and a separate smoking area (no cigars or pipes). The staff were friendly and the menu was extensive. They are well known locally for their fish dinners. We ordered the fish and onion rings with a salad. It was excellent! In fact during the week in town we ate dinner twice and lunch twice and were pleased with every meal.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good eats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

Home town eatery. Foods always good, service is great and priced right. If your looking for good food and an alternative to fast food then this is the place. Try the pancakes, they are really good.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Auburn's Town Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auburn's Town Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.