We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All around Enjoyment!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Potawatomi Inn Resort and Conference Center

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Angola
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Potawatomi Inn Resort and Conference Center
Save
You added Potawatomi Inn Resort and Conference Center to your Saves list
6 LN 100A LK James, Angola, IN 46703   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Angola
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“All around Enjoyment!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This place is HUGE! and lots to do! We've visited the Pokagon State Park many times in the past and always say we're going to stay at the Inn on our next trip; well, this time we were able to book a buy 1 night, get the 2nd night free stay. We took our 2 granddaughters and thoroughly enjoyed the Inn, the restaurant, hiking, swimming, the nature center, the arcade, the arts and crafts room, tobogganing...did I leave anything out? The front desk had family games to borrow, as well, to either play while relaxing in our room, or sit and play the games in one of the many relaxing locations inside the Inn. I can tell they have a lot of repeat business with family gatherings.
We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, Manager at Potawatomi Inn Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Potawatomi Inn. We really appriciate you taking your time to review us. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Potawatomi Inn is a true four season resort and fun for all ages!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    89
    37
    21
    17
See reviews for
121
62
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We LOVE the Potawatomi Inn in Pokagon State Park. The room is basic, but we don't spend much time there. No Snow this February but we enjoyed hiking one of the trails, sitting by the fireplace, playing games in the commons area with friends. 12 Teenagers in our group spent time in the pool,sauna,and hot tub, they painted projects in the craft room, toured the nature center. We have been coming for 20 years and have already booked for next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, Manager at Potawatomi Inn Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for you review of the Potawtomi Inn. We look forward to your family comming back next February!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
troy,ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had a great time at Pokagan State Park ,there is a toboggan run that is great .The Inn at the park is very nice the food is wonderful ,prices are reasonable .The pool is large ,hot tub & sauna were clean & towels provided .although they are small but they have a great supply available.


The only disappointment was the rooms in the historical part of the Inn are not very nice, very small , and need updating but they are clean .They have a new section which is really nice the price for these rooms are more , we used the one night get one free offer which is a great deal.,info is on the web site .Staff are wonderful !!!

Room Tip: ask the size of the room, our room must have been a single turned into a double.if you have any leg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, Manager at Potawatomi Inn Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and review of the Potawatomi Inn. The historic rooms do tend to be on the smaller side. This dates back to their origins in 1927 when the Inn featured shared bathrooms. At some point they decided to put bathrooms in every room, taking space away from the sleeping area. The rooms in the Hoosier or Horseshoe wings are larger in nature and fit today's standards of hotel rooms. We hope to see you back at the Inn soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We visit Potawatomi Inn every year for my son's birthday weekend. It has become an family trip, and we look forward to it every year. The Inn is so comfy and quaint with many common areas for families to lounge and visit. There is an on site pizza and ice cream place as well as the restaurant within the Inn which has a wonderful breakfast buffet. The kids can swim in the pool, do crafts, play game sin the rec room, or toboggan sled during the day or at night. We recently stayed in one of the cabins and it was as enjoyable as the Inn.

Room Tip: I tend to not book the historic rooms myself, but others in our party enjoy the nostalgia of the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, Manager at Potawatomi Inn Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and review of the Potawatomi Inn. It's always nice to know what we are doing right! We look forward to you comming back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noblesville, Indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We always rent a series of rooms and a cabin or two each year around the Christmas holiday to meet family that is equidistant from Pokagon State Park and Potawatomi Inn. We always have a great time in the park and at the inn. The rooms and cabins are well kept, the staff are always friendly, and it always makes for an incredibly warm Christmas experience for our extended family.

You must make reservations for the Christmas Season years in advance, just FYI.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask about the rooms in the older area of the inn if you have anyone who may be physically...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, Manager at Potawatomi Inn Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Potawatomi Inn and for the nice review. We appriciate families like yours that choose to spend the holiday season with us. If there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable, please let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay area, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I had to fly back suddenly for a funeral, and my mother suggested I stay at this place. It was slightly more expensive than the holiday inn, etc, but the promise of staying in a park was attractive.

I got there, and stayed in one of the historic rooms in the inn. It was small, but clean and attractive. I brought my computer, and found the internet so slow as to be unusable. That was frustrating (I'm not talking about streaming Netflix, but just reading email). I wanted to go to the gym in the morning, but the treadmill was marked broken, the first exercise bike I tried had a lose crank, and I couldn't get the 20 year old stair machine to work.

So, I decided to go for a walk in the forest, and it was beautiful. It's probably where I was supposed to be. There are 10+ miles of trails.

Other things I liked - there is a lot of life, lots of young families running around. If you had a large group, there are nice common areas. The toboggan run looks like a lot of fun. I'll bring my kids next time. I ate at the snack bar, and the food was surprisingly good, although no alcohol is available. The staff was friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, Manager at Potawatomi Inn Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and review of the Potawatomi Inn. We apprciate you taking time out of your busy day to let us know how we are doing. I would like to apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. Our Maintanence department has been directed to look at the equipment and see what needs to be done to ensure proper operation. We hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Every year we come here for New Years Eve family party. Kids always have a great time. Sleding in winter is great , there is a swimming pool, and craft room Low key but great place to reconnect with family playing cards or games in the great room or working on a puzzle together. Love it!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, Manager at Potawatomi Inn Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your stay and for your review of the Potawatomi Inn. We try to provide a family friendly environment for New Year's Eve and are glad that you and your family enjoyed it. We hope to see you back for many years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angola
1.2 mi away
Ramada Angola/Fremont Area
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fremont
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Fremont
Hampton Inn Fremont
#2 of 3 in Fremont
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Coldwater
16.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Coldwater
Hampton Inn Coldwater
#1 of 6 in Coldwater
4.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 3 in Fremont
4.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Potawatomi Inn Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Potawatomi Inn Resort and Conference Center

Address: 6 LN 100A LK James, Angola, IN 46703
Location: United States > Indiana > Angola
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Angola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Potawatomi Inn Resort and Conference Center is located in beautiful Pokagon State Park, and on the shores of pristine Lake James, one of Indiana's largest lakes. Visitors will enjoy acres of outdoor recreational opportunities and all modern amenities. A historic structure, the Inn opened to the public in 1927. Many renovations and additions have added the modern conveniences that today's guests expect while preserving the historic importance of the Inn. The Inn features two restaurants. The Lakeview Grille is housed in the original dining room of the Inn and features a full menu and buffet service certain nights along with a bountiful Sunday Brunch. The Courtyard Cafe is a seasonal outlet that features quick service foods, our fresh baked pizza and ice cream. Guests can enjoy any one of the Inns many amenities including our craft room, where kids of all ages can create souvenirs to take home with them. Or if you are looking for a quiet place to read or do a puzzle in front of the fireplace, you can try the library or the Lonidow Lounge. Of course, the most popular amenity is the 1,600 acre Pokagon State Park with its miles of hiking and biking trails and not one, but two beaches. And don't think that we go dormant in the winter, from Thanksgiving weekend through the end of February the weekends come alive with the opening of the Toboggan Run which features two quarter mile refrigerated toboggan tracks that can reach speeds of 35 to 40 miles per hour! Come enjoy the Potawatomi Inn Resort and Conference Center, Indiana's year round playground! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Potawatomi Inn Hotel Angola
Potawatomi Hotel Angola
Potawatomi Resort Angola
Potawatomi Inn Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Potawatomi Inn Resort and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.