We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the drive for all gospel music fans” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaither Family Resource Center

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Gaither Family Resource Center
1617 South Parke Avenue, Alexandria, IN 46001
765-724-8405
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Alexandria
Type: Amusement
Attraction details
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Worth the drive for all gospel music fans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We had a wonderful meal in the café, all home-cooked. Very quaint and made me feel like I was back home at my grandma's house in Indiana. Michael was our server and was absolutely fantastic.

After lunch we spent quite a bit of time browsing through their comfortable country style store. The store was all decked out for Christmas and it felt like we walked into a Christmas wonderland. The staff were pleasant and quite helpful. Completely worth the drive and next time we will go on one of their tours.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great is their music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had a very enjoyable time while here visiting the various areas of the store. It was a bit unorganized as they were setting the store up for the Christmas season. However, all of the personnel were friendly, informed, and willing to help in any way possible.
As might be expected, the Gaither musical heritage tends to dominate the products offered including cd's, videos, and gift items.
In addition to the merchandise offered, there is also a restaurant area with over 100 items on the menu for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.
There is a small children's area.
Many "special" events are held throughout the year.
This is a "must" for Gaither fans as well as anyone looking for Christian musical items.
It would also be an ideal place to find quality gifts.
We hope to be able to return for the Christmas open house in November.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, Missouri
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
83 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Attention all gospel music fans, this is a must see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The ride here from Elkhart was not convenient, almost 2.5 hours, but I am glad we got to visit here, as we have talked about it for a long time.
We were delayed in Elkhart due to a mishap, so we did the drive. It is a lovely drive lined with corn fields, but if you tune in to some Gaither Music the ride flies by.
The staff makes you feel very welcome and loved when you step inside, very helpful like family.
First we browsed through the huge gift shop with a very large variety of beautiful gift ideas.
Next was my favorite, eating. The cafe has a very healthy menu,plus a full blown coffee shop.
I wanted to try one of everything on the menu, very reasonably priced and delicious. Make sure you try Bill's Tomato Soup!
Then we took the $5. tour of Gaither Music Studios. Our guide Marge is a personal friend of the family, very witty and knowledgeable of this talented family, in the same town with the Gaither's all her life.
I would definitely go back, especially for that awesome menu. There is something there for everyone and not fried.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia City, Indiana
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Love the atmosphere and cheerful, friendly disposition of everyone there. The heritage of the Gaither family is beautiful and they've worked hard to make it a great place full of resources for everyeone.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gaither Family Resource Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaither Family Resource Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.