We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Animal Sanctuary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Pine Animal Sanctuary

Black Pine Animal Sanctuary
1426 W. 300 N., Albion, IN 46701
+1 260-636-7383
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Albion
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 18-acre sanctuary provides permanent refuge to more than 85 captive-raised exotic animals for the REST of their lives. Quiet, educational tours of the facility enable visitors to enjoy close-up observation of tigers, leopards, bears, monkeys, reptiles, birds, lions, and Indiana's only chimpanzee, Tarzan. Set in a beautiful pine forest in a quaint Midwest town, this volunteer-staffed refuge is one of the most well-respected in the nation, and does not buy, sell, breed, or trade animals, and is a hidden treasure for nature lovers of all ages! Free parking. Picnics welcomed. Tours available year-round. Inquire for tour times, other program offerings, and special events throughout the year.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Animal Sanctuary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I have been going to Black Pine Animal Park since 1997. It is fantastic. Their mission is incredible. They are all wonderful people. The animals are incredible. I have never been able to be this close to exotic animals. They are so beautful. The Black Pine staff do everything in their power to replicate the animals natural habitat. It is so worth the visit.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    11
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Albion, Indiana, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“First Timer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I Was At The Appreciation Day. It Was My First Time There.Lived In Albion For Several Yrs.And Thought I Better Get Out There And See The Place.I SOOOOO Glad I Did. It Is Fabulous!!!!!Going Back Out Soon.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sturgis, michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“AWESOME !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is better than a zoo. The place is so well organized and it allows you to get real close to the animals. These are rescued animals so it is very educational.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia City, IN
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Place and Worth Supporting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Visited with family for 3pm feeding tour. Very informative. Every animal there has a story - some of abuse or neglect, others with loving families that couldn't take care of them anymore, some are retired circus animals - all are extremely interesting. Gives good reasons to think twice about owning an exotic pet or supporting the trade.

If you have small children, for safety, they require them to be held or in a stroller the entire time. Tour is 2 hours long. My 2-yr old son did fine. Liked the lion.

There are lions, bears, tigers, leopards, a grey fox, a wolf pack, serpentarium, monkeys, apes, and several birds. All of the animals were really active during feeding time and the lion gave a short roar while there. This is a great place to visit and we will definitely be back.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Worth a visit and for a great cause...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We joined up for the family pals membership. $75 buck for two adults and two children for unlimited visits for a year. We went for the first time yesterday. Easy to find. Very nice employees (you can tell they care)! I thought it was great what they do for all the animals. The Grey Wolves were awesome. Got some great pics and video. The Black Bear named "Trouble" was cool. It made us sad to see some of the animals in pain and to learn what people did to them and how they were treated and caged prior to coming to Black Pine. This place is run and exists soley on donations so drop by and pay them a visit, it's for a great cause. I wish that a couple of the cats had bigger enclosures for more exercise to shed a couple pounds but overall a great place :-)

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Pine Animal Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Black Pine Animal Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Pine Animal Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.