We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Casino

Hollywood Casino
49 West Galena Blvd., Aurora, IL 60506
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 20 attractions in Aurora
Type: Casinos
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Located only 38 miles west of downtown Chicago, this 53,000-square-foot casino offers live poker and 27 high-action tables including Blackjack, Craps, Roulette and Three-Card Poker.
Joliet, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Just did not like the casino or the layout. People who worked there did not seem happy to be there. The place was busy so maybe that had something to do with the employees and the place being dirty.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    12
    10
    12
    22
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Worst Chicagoland Area Casino”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

I have been coming here for many years. I dont know why I do because this place has been getting worse and worse over the years. The slot machines are geared for you to spend $2 to $5 (or more) per spin max bet. The jackpot you play for is usually under $500. It is easy to spend $300 or more an hour and have nothing to show for it . Then after a few ATM withdraws and a few hundred dollars more, you may get lucky to win $200. It is hard to break even and difficult to come out ahead. I seldomly have seen any hand cash payouts. A few years ago hand payouts could be seen frequently throughout the casino most visits. Now it is very rare to see any BIG wins. Most people seem depressed, angry and frustrated. I dont blame them. This Casino is the absolute worst of other Area Casinos. The Grand Victoria in Elgin and Rivets in Desplaines or HARRASS boat in Joliet all offer a better experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffith, Indiana, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“WANT TO BE CHEATED AT POKER PLAY HERE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

hollywood casino aurora is a joke for a casino. let me start with the poker room. the staff is terrible and cater to the regular players ive played there about 10 times and they allow behavior like a guy goes all in and put his 100 dollar chip in the pot but when he lost he hide it in his palm. when the player brought it to the poker room managers attention they let him keep it cause he said he just pulled it outta his pocket.... which was physically impossible. also there are always 3 or 4 people at the table who are playing together. the experiece there is stupid and with a 9 dollar rake id say save your money. the slots suck as well.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Too many slots alike”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I like video slots which have bonus games that just aren't free spins. This casino has a lot of slots by IGT that are basically the same basic theme. They need to add more slots from more imaginable companies.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fun night out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Lots of fun for a night out in the suburbs. Low table minimums and cheap drinks. We had a great band playing near the buffet area too -- we jammed with them!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hollywood Casino also viewed

 

Been to Hollywood Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hollywood Casino to your Saves list