We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, and you'll pay for it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chef Amaury's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chef Amaury's
33 W New York St, Aurora, IL 60506
630-375-0426
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 269 restaurants in Aurora
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Continental
Restaurant details
Aurora, IL, USA
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Delicious food, and you'll pay for it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

It's nice to have a "quality" restaurant in downtown Aurora. But, the lamb was undercooked, the scallops slightly undercooked, and the owner sits in the bar talking on the cell phone. The food is very tasty and you'll open your wallet to pay for it. We hope it makes it as we don't have too many other good dining choices in the area.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    11
    3
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We went on a busy Saturday night after the 4PM paramont show. It was obviously challenging to handle the people finishing dinner before the 8PM show and the people coming in after the 4PM show. The staff made the appropriate priorities to get people to the theater while still handling the new people arrriving and acknowledging they were a bit over whelmed. The food and service were delightful. We had scallops, tuna, soup (excellent parsnip soup), and we shared a rack of lamb plus a molten chocolate - well worth the 15 minute wait.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of the best dining experiences you will ever have”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My wife and I have been going here for several years now. Chef Amaury has one of the best places I have ever dined at. The food is great. he selects local ingredients and the fish and meat that he brings in tops almost every place I have been to. The 5 course tasting menu is the way to go when you dine there. Also, we have had many great wines as the chef's wine list is great.

This is a must visit to when your looking for a great place to eat.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Don't miss this one!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Hubby and I have been going here for several years. Have never met anyone more passionate about food than Amaury! He frequently explains the menu to your table personally. Ingredients are local and the highest quality. We get the 5 course tasting menu and are always delighted. Never miss the molten chocolate cake for dessert, though all the selections are great. I don't usually eat seafood but enjoy it when it's prepared by Chef Amaury!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Tasteful Gourmet...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

The food was prepared by the chef who visits each table. He cares about his customers and prepares food in a sustainable manner. The menu changes with the availability of ingredients. Worth a visit.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef Amaury's also viewed

 

Been to Chef Amaury's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chef Amaury's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.