We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appearances Are Deceiving.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SciTech Hands On Museum

SciTech Hands On Museum
18 W. Benton St, Aurora, IL 60506
+1 630-859-3434
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 9 Attractions in Aurora
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Over 200 interactive Science and Technology exhibits. 30,000sq feet of exciting science fun in an historic post office building in downtown Aurora. Two story TORNADO that you can stand inside of. Real life Storm Chasing Truck. Hot Air Balloon Simulator, Shadow Wall: Watch your shadow get trapped on the wall! Kane County Cougars Radar Baseball Throw: Measure the speed of your pitch! Virtual Topography Sand Box: Build a mountain and watch a lake form! Google Liquid Sky: 3D global journey. June 2014: Nano-Vation Labs (for ages 6 and under) June - August: Outdoor Science Park, Field Trips, Birthday Parties, Scout Events, Overnights, and so much more! Discovery Shop: One-Of-A-Kind STEM gifts for your budding SCIENTIST !! SciTech STEM Discovery Academy: Preschool and Kindergarten
Montgomery, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Appearances Are Deceiving.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

What looks like a post-office from the outside hides a really fun place for children and adults alike. Presentations are fun and interactive. Well worth the time and money for an afternoon of fun.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    10
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Plainfield, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We visited this place once and not comming back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

The place is just ok. The exibits are ok but they seem kind of old and dusty. Not much to do for small children, the toddlers area is really small and there are not many activities for them. The only fun thing my boy did was to run and run all over the place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SciTech2013, Director of Sales at SciTech Hands On Museum, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you so much for visiting our museum in 2012! I am the new Director of Operations at SciTech Hands on Musuem and I am personally reaching out to our visitors. We are currently in the process of seeking grant funding to expand our museum that has been open to the public since 1987. By April 2014 we will have added 2 brand new exhibits that no other museum in the state currently has! Also, the Dunham Fund has generously donated to our organization to expand the area you spoke of for the younger learners. It will be renamed Nano-Vation Labs and will feature many new exhibits specifically designed for our young scientists! Please feel free to keep an eye on our Facebook page for updates and I hope that you visit us again this Summer! My name is Camille Coller, do not hesitate to call with any questions regarding the future we have in mind!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun Time For Kids and Adults”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We have been here several times over the years. Always something intersting to see. Kids get a first hand look at what other kids have done that is scientific.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hands on Science”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

The kids will have fun while learning.Oh, parents will have fun too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I love this place!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

This is an amazing museum because it actually teaches math, science and physics in a really fun, visual and hands-on way! It is definitely not your typcial "babysitter" museum filled with toddlers, so kids over the age of seven will feel much happier here! There's plenty to do too, despite it's small size. There are over 200 exhibits, but also a really cool outdoor park where you can actually ride a bicycle on a rope, get lifted into the air on a giant yo-yo, pendulum swing and more. I'm impressed with all the new changes at the museum too such as the really cute cafe and new preschool (for annual enrollement only.) There are really cool science shows through-out the day at no additional cost. The cost to get into the museum is the lowest in Chicago too! Big thumbs up!!!!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SciTech Hands On Museum also viewed

 

Been to SciTech Hands On Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SciTech Hands On Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.