We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you've been to one IHOP . . .” 3 of 5 stars
Review of IHOP

IHOP
583 South Route 59, Aurora, IL 60504
(630) 375-0890
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 269 restaurants in Aurora
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Poplar Grove, IL
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“If you've been to one IHOP . . .”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

This IHOP is similar to other IHOPs throughout the US. Consistent service, consistent quality. One thing i don't recall is the price. My three daughters and I had typical fare - one kids meal, three standard breakfasts - and the bill was over $50! I thought it was a mistake, but no. $3 for an apple juice! Thank goodness they didn't get refills.

Food was decent quality, served reasonably quickly. Our waitress was pleasant and worked well with my family. The location is convenient. I don't know that we'll be back anytime real soon, primarily because of the cost.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

55% Recommend
    7
    4
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Happy birthday to me I guess..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

First of all I am giving them a 2 overall because they were able to accommodate our group last minute after plans at another establishment fell through.

I don't know if servers are not trained in how to handle a birthday party, but even the normal duties were lacking. The hostess was given my birthday cake and I guess did not inform the server of the cake or the fact it was my birthday.
First we never got refills on our drinks, eventually one of my friends requested a pitcher of water which we all used due to the lack of refills.
Our waiter seemed completely clueless, he kept asking us stupid questions and making rookie mistakes. He brought out only two appetizers, but he did not bring out any dipping sauces. Then he had to make 2 trips back to the kitchen for the 2 marinara sauces and 1 honey mustard sauce. Then I, the birthday girl received my food last when 2 people came an hour late to my party, and I was the 2nd person to order.
The last thing was he asked if we wanted dessert and I had to inform him we had a birthday cake. He then brought the cake, still in the box, to our table with no silverware. He then asked us, clearly seeing we had no plates or silverware, if we would like plates and silverware. He then that out and then we had to ask him if he could light the cake. He then came back with a lighter and had me light my own cake.
Also several people complained about their small portions. My one friend looked like she had a spoonful of eggs put on her plate.

I am surprised we were treated so poorly, we won't be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay View, WI
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“IHOP Never dissappoints”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The food is always good at IHOP. Very busy, but the manager had a handle on it. Bathrooms not very appealing.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

For breakfast, it is okay. I much prefer 2 other restaurants in my neighborhood that Ihop but it will do from time to time.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Horrible..”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Cold pancakes that tasted as though they were pre-made and they didn't warm them up in the microwave the entire time. Very bad breakfast and not cheap.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IHOP also viewed

 

Been to IHOP? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IHOP, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.