We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book this place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marsha's Vineyard Bed and Breakfast

Marsha's Vineyard Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arthur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marsha's Vineyard Bed and Breakfast
212 Chaise Lane, Arthur, IL 61911   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Arthur B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Book this place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We can recommend Marsha's without reservation. We were lucky enough to book the morning of the night we wanted to stay - what a find! From taking the booking to the time with left Marsha's care for us was excellent. Her interest in gardening and arts made us feel we were staying with a friend. The real unexpected treat was for Jeff and his barber quartet to arrive and give us a private performance.

Located in a quiet street, we had a very restful night before continuing on our way.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Marsha's Vineyard at the end of April 2012 in the lovely Amish town of Arthur, Illnois. We received a very warm welcome from Jeff and Marsha who are probably the most warm and generous couple we have ever met. They greeted us like long-lost friends and we were touched by the warmth of their welcome. They gave great recommendations about things to do and places to go. The bedroom we stayed in was large and spotlessly clean. It is very stylishly decorated - and is separate from the main house, giving space and privacy. It was a lovely cosy room, with sofa and soft seating - with an adjoining kitchen and ensuite. I cannot recommend Marsha's Vineyard highly enough. Our visit to Arthur Illinois was one of the major highlights of our trip across Route 66 and much of this is due to Marsha and Jeff. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We especially liked that we had the place to ourselves and that the garden room was on the 1st floor. We had plenty of room to sort out our suitcases as we had been on the road for two weeks. Many B&B's that we stayed at were upstairs, so we would leave our large cases in the trunk and take what we needed each night. Because we were leaving for the airport the next morning the place made it easier for us to pack. Besides that, the bed was comfortable and the rooms clean. Marsha was very friendly and accommodating. The continental breakfast was good and a variety to choose from. Cold and instant hot cereals, assorted fruit, yogurt, orange juice, milk, coffee, tea, and two kinds of fresh baked pastries made by the.Amish. Don't know if we will ever again visit Southern Illinois. If we do, we'll stay at Marsha's Vineyard B &B..

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

I just returned from my 5th visit to Marsha's and as always, had the BEST time. Marsha and her husband, Jeff always go out of their way to make us feel at home. The kitchen is always well stocked, and our room is clean and re-stocked when we return. The patio outside the Garden Room provides the perfect way to end a day of sight seeing around Arthur. We wouldn't stay anywhere else when we come to Arthur, as we have found the best kept secret in town!!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. louis
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2008

This year marks my sixth weekend stay at the vineyard since 2004. It is truly my friends and my "home away from home"! We have enjoyed every minute of our visit with Marsha and her husband Jeff. We especially love the home baked goods that Marsha provides us from the amish bakeries. This along with the opportunity to see all that Arthur and the surrounding area has to offer, makes Marsha Vineyard the perfect get away from the hustle of our "normal" lives.
We are already booked for the next year and look forward to our visits.

Ann from St. Louis

  • Liked — I loved the environment of the B & B
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2008

Marsha's Vineyard is the perfect place to stay! We have stayed at Marsha's once or twice a year for the last 5 years and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. Marsha and Jeff are wonderful, very helpful and friendly. The house is beautiful and pristine clean.
We can't wait for our next trip to relax in Arthur!

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, MO
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2007

My wife, my daughter and I enjoyed our stay at the vineyard very much. Marsha was very kind and helpfull. We were very comfortable while resting up from our wanderings around Arthur.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marsha's Vineyard Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marsha's Vineyard Bed and Breakfast

Address: 212 Chaise Lane, Arthur, IL 61911
Location: United States > Illinois > Arthur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Arthur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marsha's Vineyard Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Marsha's Vineyard Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list