We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always fast and friendly service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Javier's Sabor Mexicano

Javier's Sabor Mexicano
8 West Miner Street, Arlington Heights, IL 60004 (Formerly La Chicanita Mexican Restaurant)
(847) 255-7075
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
North Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
530 reviews 530 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 173 cities Reviews in 173 cities
364 helpful votes 364 helpful votes
“Always fast and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband I have been eating at Javier's (formerly La Chichanita) for over 30 years. We've seen the restaurant expand over the years, but one thing remains the same -- their fast, friendly service and their good food. We always like sitting in the high-backed booths toward the back of the restaurant. There are lots of choices in the menu and prices are moderate. Its always a good experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fresh and Awesome Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I am not a big fan of Mexican food; however, whenever I am visiting the area I look forward to going to La Chicanita/Javiers because it is so good! I have gone here for almost 10 years and it is still as great today. The guacamole is the best I have ever had anywhere and is always fresh. Margaritas are absolutely delicious. And the best part is the how perfect they make their fried ice cream. Service can be so so sometimes, but that is the case everywhere. Food comes out fast and fresh and is always a great experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great authentic Mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Javier's has the best authentic Mexican food in Arlington Heights and the NW suburbs. Also great margaritas and wonderful staff.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galena, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Never going back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

I went to Javier's while on business, hoping for some good Mexican. After driving around the block several times looking for parking I finally settled for a spot about 2 blocks away. Normally this would not even be an issue but this night it was sub-zero...I was really hoping the food would be worth it. Sadly (for me) it was not. The restaurant looks nice inside and out and I was seated quickly but that is where the good review ends. It took my waiter quite a while to finally take my order - a dish that sounded like Mexican shrimp scampi. The chips brought out seemed just in the acceptable side of overcooked but I have seen this before and assumed it was on purpose. The salsa was too hot for my liking and tasted like they had simply crushed some tomatoes and added cilantro and peppers to it, no real flavor just heat.

When my meal finally did arrive it looked like shrimp scampi, oriental fried rice and a serving of frozen (microwaved) California mix vegetables. Imagine my surprise when I discovered that was exactly what it was. The rice was dried out, the vegetables had clearly been microwaved and almost burnt, the shrimp was overcooked and my drink stayed empty almost the entire meal. I do not think the waiter came back once after the food was out, and no, they were not busy.

Overall, this has to be my worst dining experience in a looong time and there will not be a second chance for Javier's.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“getting better slowly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

A few years ago we went here and I found the whole experience terrible. From the food to the service it was abismal. The other day we gave it another shot and was pleased to see that things have improved. The service was excellent, The wait staff is attentive and helpful. The food is better than it was but can still be a bit more authentic.I would like to have the food taste better than 90% of all of the other Mexican eateries. You do get plenty of food but it could be a bit heartier in taste.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Javier's Sabor Mexicano also viewed

Arlington Heights, IL
Arlington Heights, IL
 
Arlington Heights, IL
Arlington Heights, IL
 

Been to Javier's Sabor Mexicano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Javier's Sabor Mexicano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.