We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better the second time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Tasca Restaurant

La Tasca Restaurant
25 W Davis St, Arlington Heights, IL 60005-1424
847-398-2400
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Much better the second time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I remember coming here about 5 years ago and our meal then was marred by a raucous group of women. This time, we arrived around 5:00 PM on a Saturday night and were seated in a back room, that was empty at first but filled up as the evening progressed. The service was excellent and the food was very good - as with all tapas places, we liked some dishes better than others. We skipped the paella (about $30 for 2) since you can get 3 different tapas for that price. We were not economizing but it is fairly easy to run up a $100 bill for two (we had 2 drinks, 2 soups, 4 tapas, 2 desserts and 2 cappuccinos).

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    34
    13
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
everywhere
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Now this was my second time visiting this restaurant...The first time was a business dinner in Oxford, UK...this time was with friends....and the experience was really different..both times were great...but there was live music, the table was only a 4-top so it was easy to see all the dishes...there was olives and cheeses and seafoods and roasted veg.... All very generous portions and the wait staff was very nice and attentive.
The pitcher of sangria was really delicious as well.

I did notice another table getting the paella and that's definitely on my list for my third visit....

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stopped in here on a Monday around 5pm so it was slower than what I've seen on the weekends but there were other diners there. This was our first time trying tapas and our waiter took the time to explain the meals and the ordering. We took our time and enjoyed every selection. Our favorite was the scallop dish. I still think about it and can't wait to go back for more! We loved the portions and enjoyed trying lots of small things rather than one overwhelming dish. The atmosphere was enjoyable. The prices were reasonable. Not sure I could get used to wine in little "jelly" glasses but I suppose that's authentic. We will definitely return. It was great. I recommend it highly!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Outing with Friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

La Tasca is a tapas restaurant - one of the best i have enjoyed. Variety of dishes is impressive - it is often difficult to make up one's mind, but should you decided later that you want to try another dish, the service is fast and excellent, so one need not wait long to sample yet another delicacy. Our guests were enchanted with La Tasca and are already planning to return to sample some of the dishes we didn't get too!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love the ambience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

A small group of my girlfriends and I had dinner here. It's located in downtown Arlington Heights. Street parking was scarce, but we got lucky after driving around for about 15 minutes. We were led to the dining area of the restaurant, which was cozy and kind of romantic. The front of the restaurant was very lively. As we walked out after dinner, we saw a live band...would definitely need to come back for that!

The food was good. We ordered 5 or 6 tapas and 2 pitchers of red sangria. The sangria was good. Pretty tasty, nothing extravagant. The tapas were flavorful enough; satisfying, though I think it was overpriced.

No complaints on the service. Front of the house hosts were friendly and the server was hospitable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tasca Restaurant also viewed

Arlington Heights, IL
Arlington Heights, IL
 
Arlington Heights, IL
Arlington Heights, IL
 

Been to La Tasca Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Tasca Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.