We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dry and tasteless” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Johnnie's Beef

Johnnie's Beef
1935 S Arlington Heights Rd, Arlington Heights, IL 60005-4017
847-357-8100
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Description: great italian beef and awesome italian ice
ROSEVILLE
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“dry and tasteless”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Ordered the combo sandwich. Bread was just ok, beef was dry and tasteless. Italian sausage was the worst I can remember. Had the consistency that it had been cooking for the last week. Visited based on the good review, evidently, there is little consistency at this place.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    12
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
suburban Chicago
Level Contributor
91 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“I'v been to Elmwood Park, but not here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Today I had my first meal at the Johnnie's Beef in Arlington Heights and was pleasantly surprised. I have eaten at the Elmwood Park location for years and I was a little afraid to try this location even though it had the same owner.

I was pleased that the food was just as good as at the original and just as reasonable. This location is in a building that provides indoor seating. There are perhaps 10 tables and a long eating counter similar to the other store.

The service is perhaps faster as they have two registers and two sets of people putting orders together. It was Saturday and after the normal lunch hour so there was no line when we go there but by the time we left 30 minutes later every table was taken and people were standing at the eating counter. Apparently our neighbors in the North suburbs have discovered what Italian beef is supposed to be.

They also have a number of tables outside for use in better weather. The parking here is much better than Elmwood Pk.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Stockton, Texas
Level Contributor
217 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Cash only”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Cash only places can only survive if they serve the best and cheap. Johnny does both. Great spicy Italian beef and ice, go for both.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Prospect
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Italian Ice Around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Skip going out to ice cream and just go here for the homemade Italian ice. The prices are very reasonable as well. Plus, the beef and sausage combo is fantastic. If you haven't been here then you are missing out on a great local place.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food & fast service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I love their Italian ice! Although I have gotten their tamales & beef sandwiches in the past, my favorite is the hotdog. They offer all the toppings to make a Chicago Style hotdog but you can choose whichever ones you want. I really like their fries too. With some places it's hit or miss but here the fries are always good.

I also like that they are open late and the service is really fast.

One thing to know is that they only take cash.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnnie's Beef also viewed

Arlington Heights, IL
 
Arlington Heights, IL
Arlington Heights, IL
 

Been to Johnnie's Beef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnnie's Beef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.