We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Unexpected Treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Green Mill Village Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Green Mill Village Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Green Mill Village Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   917 Green Mill Road, Arcola, IL 61910   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Arcola
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
The Villages, FL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“An Unexpected Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We discovered this Best Western Plus on a trip north to Minnesota at Exit 203 off Interstate 57. The hotel is very close to the highway and very easy to find as right now there is not a lot of development around the hotel site. The rooms are very spacious and nicely decorated, clean and the beds were very comfortable. Lots of colorful local artwork throughout the hotel. Hot and cold items are available for breakfast, and it was a pleasant surprise to find that breakfast is served until 10am.
Because of our initial experience going north, we planned our return trip to include another stop at this hotel in Arcola. We did not book ahead and despite the fact the hotel was fully occupied the previous night, the staff was very accommodating and prepared a room for us with very little delay. The staff was very pleasant and professional.
Rates were a little higher than some of the Best Western hotels we've stayed at, but we felt this hotel was good value for the money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy F, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Green Mill Village Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We also appreciate that you included us as a stop on your trip home. If you come back through, please stop in and say hi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    24
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
86
37
9
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Green Mile Village, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Hotel was unexpectedly well renovated, kept clean, and in working order. Some sort of hot egg dish for breakfast would have been good. I did not like the big fat round pillows on the bed but that was the only negative. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy F, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Green Mill Village Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thanks you for writing us a review. I apologize that you didn't get hot eggs on the morning after your stay. We often have scrambled eggs, omlettes, or some type of hot egg. On some mornings we offer breakfast burritos with the hot egg, as well as sausage and cheese inside. We offer different choices, on different days, so that guests staying several nights don't have eat the same things day after day. Pancakes are always available though. Our pancake machine is a favorite for kids of all ages, from 1 to 100! Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is an excellent hotel with beautiful local artwork. The furniture is also locally made. The hotel is vey clean. The beds are very comfortable. The breakfast is nicely done with a few hot items. The hotel is in a rural and very peaceful area. A nice stop for us on our trip to Michigan.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy F, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Green Mill Village Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thanks for the wonderful review and thank you for choosing Best Western Plus. We are located in a very calm and quiet area, and that is an important factor for many of our guests. We're glad you enjoyed the peacefulness of the area. If you ever make it back to our "neck of the woods" again, please stop in and say hi. We'll have a comfy bed waiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We recently stayed at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Green Mill Village Hotel & Suites in Arcola, Ill. I would not pass this hotel up if you were in the area. For such a rural area it is a very nice hotel. We had to book it at the last minute and we had no problems doing it. We received a great room rate for 2 and experienced no surprise charges to our bill. The facility is an exceptional hotel. It appears to be new so it was clean and the amenities were great. The staff were professional, courteous and friendly as well as helpful. We slept well on the beds provided and did not experience any interruptions from noise or other annoyances. We were able to relax in the room and watch TV inbetween our family outings.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy F, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Green Mill Village Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thanks for taking time out of your day to write such a great review for us. We truly appreciate it, and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a really wonderful and rather spanking brand new hotel in the outskirts of Illinois Amish Country. I very much enjoyed my stay here. It definitely is one of the most outstanding Best Western Plus hotels I have yet to experience. The décor is very warm and inviting with a definite Amish and country flair. I found the hallways to be very inviting and relaxing with neat lanterns for lighting. My room was impeccably clean and neat with again, Amish-style furniture. All in all, this is really quite a superb hotel--a real gem.

One thing which really impressed me is that I was recognized as a loyalty member and given a gift bag of snacks and water upon check in--something I have not experienced at any other Best Western hotel. Granted, I am only at the beginning level of membership, but still--this was definitely a pleasant touch and made my arrival even more positive.

If you are going to be staying anywhere in this area, definitely do yourself a favor and choose this hotel. I guarantee that you won't be disappointed, and their rates are quite reasonable too. While in town, Yoder's Kitchen Restaurant up the street in nearby Arthur is quite good with a decent buffet of country/Amish food. On the way, you will pass many delightful Amish folks riding by in horse drawn buggies

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy F, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Green Mill Village Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I absolutely loved reading it. I'm glad you enjoyed the hotel and surrounding area. We hope make it back to the area to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcola, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

excellent. highly suggest it ! rooms were five star. beautiful décor and furniture. pool was great. staff very helpful ! will return very soon ! the breakfast tasted excellent. I will tell everyone of this great find !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy F, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Green Mill Village Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Matt,

Thanks for writing us the awesome review. We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay. Also, thank you so much for recommending our hotel to others. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, IL, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western in Arcola, Illinois, and had the surprise of our lives! The hotel is new, and the furniture was handmade by the Amish. I have never stayed in a place with such wonderful furniture, and every other aspect of the experience was terrific as well. The breakfast was unusually good for a serve yourself. The whole experience was great and I would love to have stayed for more than 2 nights!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy F, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Green Mill Village Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write us a review. We're so glad that you enjoyed the Amish furniture and décor. We are very proud to have furniture that was locally made and photos that were taken right in our community, by a member of our community. We hope you stop by and see us if you come through Arcola again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Green Mill Village Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Green Mill Village Hotel & Suites

Address: 917 Green Mill Road, Arcola, IL 61910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Arcola
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Arcola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Green Mill Village Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This brand new hotel and conference center features 68 rooms and suites and features over 4,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space. In addition the hotel offers an indoor pool, extensive fitness center and easy on and off access to I-57. Also included is our complimentary full hot breakfast. Our deluxe guest rooms and suites offer the following: 42-inch HD LCD television, MP3 alarm clock radio, microwave, refrigerator, high-speed wireless and wired Internet. Make a reservation today at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Green Mill Village Hotel & Suites.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Green Mill Village Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Green Mill Village Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.