We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, but skip the calamari” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oliverii North

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Oliverii North
384 Lake St, Antioch, IL 60002-1404
847-395-9999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 65 Restaurants in Antioch
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
LucyintheSky12
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Very good, but skip the calamari”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We are Italian & were recently in Antioch (which is pretty far from home) and had lunch at Oliverii. Loved the atmosphere and the wine. Very good pizza (real Italian style thin--Naples style) and the soup was also good, but could've used a little less salt in the minestrone. The calamari with pasta in red sauce was rubbery (that happens when it is overcooked.) Was disappointed in that, as this place is Italian, but other than that, we would eat here again. The owner is very nice & staff are attentive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    14
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Oliverri North - Great food, Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Oliveri North is one of our favorite spots to enjoy a meal and good drinks. The food is authentic and well prepared, I'm especially fond of the carpaccio. They have weekly specials that are wonderful. We often just order a pizza (the sausage is fantastic) and sit at the bar for Heather's (the best bartender!) martinis. They run drink specials, so some nights you can get half off wine, or martinis, or other drinks. The atmosphere is comfortable, and the staff is attentive and since we are repeat, frequent customers, they treat us like family. There is not a better place for an Italian meal in the Northern Suburbs. I have the opportunity to plan corporate events occassionally, and always bring our groups to Oliveri's - they work with us on menu and make sure service is wonderful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Villa, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We gave Oliveri a second and third try, but that's it. Not many good restaurants in Antioch and this place keeps that tradition alive. Apathetic help, average to below average food and if you mention either, it's obvious they don't care. Most folks that have been to Oliveri find it to be disappointing if they have been at a good Italian restaurant. Would only recommend if every other place in town is booked.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice italian place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Good italian. I think this is a hard one because everybody seems to have an extreme preference when it comes to Italian food. Some like their lasagna saucy and some like it dry, others like meatless, some like sausage mixed in...etc. Overall I have never had a bad experience there! Nice quaint restaurant and best of all it's location in the heart of Antioch. Fun type restaurant to enjoy the wine & have a nice dinner sitting by the window.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“What a disapointment!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

I was looking forward to this place but what a disappoiment. I ordered the casear salad to start without any warnings that it has anchovy sauce in it. Yuck-- I then had the mushroom pasta alfedo. Totally lacked flavor-- I swear the mushrroms were freeze dried!! My daughter had the lasanga it was ok. My son had the bacon pasta dish and it was weird strange tasting. The waitress though was very good and attentive. The place was super loud so having any type of conversation with a group was impossible. Go to Davids bistro for a excellent dinner instead.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oliverii North also viewed

Antioch, Lake County
 
Antioch, Lake County
 

Been to Oliverii North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oliverii North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.