We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Eat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of David's Bistro

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
David's Bistro
883 Main St, Antioch, IL 60002-1508
847-603-1196
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 65 Restaurants in Antioch
Cuisines: French, American
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place to Eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is always a great place to eat and one of my go to spots to take friends. They always very accomidating. For example, my sister-in-law is vegan and they will take many items on the menu and tweak them for her. They will also "whip up" a vegan dish that is not even on the menu.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    20
    5
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grayslake, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A good place for an special occasion or just for the evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

David's Bistro offers food from gourmet pizza to steak and lobster combo. So it is for everyone stop by before going to the LMP theater or as a couple or a group. The food is very good for this location and the wait staff is extremely polite and efficient. Very interesting specials, wine by the glass and hands on owner makes this a pleasant visit. Some great fish and pasta choices on the menu!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

The far north east corner of Illinois is known for its burger, brat and beer restaurants so to open up David's Bistro's menu and see frois gras with marinated peaches as an appetizer was certainly a welcome surprise. And that's just one of the limited but excellent choices on the menu. Then to see that everything was priced below $15, well I was suspicious. Could the food live up to the menu at these prices? I was pleasantly surprised when it did. Great ingredients, excellent sauces and spot on preparation. Excellent staff as well.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
119 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Always quality food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Food is always good. Service is amazing. Try the appetizer for two. It is so good!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHICAGO
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent entree's, skip the Easter/Mother's Day buffets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I've eaten at this restaurant approximately 10 times. The food is excellent, amazing soups and sauces, attentive/hands-on owner, and very good wait staff. I will definitely be returning. I have brought family and friends and they were never disappointed.
Here are the negatives: very crowded, a little pricey (dinner + 1 glass of wine =$35) and lastly I will not return for the buffets. The Easter buffet was very limited and when the owner was working at the ham carving station he ate a small piece of ham with his fingers. That grossed me out. Maybe it doesn't bother others?

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David's Bistro also viewed

Antioch, Lake County
 
Antioch, Lake County
 

Been to David's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage David's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.