We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth getting off the highway!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Purple Onion

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Purple Onion
311 W Front Street, Annawan, IL
(309) 935-6621
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Annawan
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Orlando
Level Contributor
87 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Worth getting off the highway!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Drive past the fast food and franchise joints. This is the real deal. Family owned, freshly cooked, country food. I feel I was truly lucky to stumble across this gem. I'll be back!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leavenworth, Kansas
Level Contributor
109 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“If You Don't Want To Drive Further, Eat Here.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Ok in a pinch, acceptable food with friendly folks. This is without a doubt a community type restaurant for this small locale. I would not go out of my way to eat here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The food was good, reasonably priced, and the locals were friendly. I'd recommend this to anyone passing through!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, MI
Level Contributor
133 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A very nice country restuarant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The Purple Onion is a family owned & operated place right in the center of town. We had the meat loaf which was one of the daily specials. The pie looked great but we had too much meat loaf so we had no room for pie. Maybe next time, 'cause we'll be back.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purple Onion also viewed

 

Been to Purple Onion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Purple Onion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.