We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Define 'camping'” 2 of 5 stars
Review of O'Connell's Yogi Bear Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added O'Connell's Yogi Bear Park to your Saves list
O'Connell's Yogi Bear Park
970 Green Wing Road, PO Box 200, Amboy, IL 61310   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Amboy
Lockport, Illinois
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Define 'camping'”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Set the proper expectations when visiting these camps. It is camping only in that you sleep in a tent or camper. If you are wanting to commune with nature....find a state park. Everyone with a 6 pack and a tent show up to these camps on weekends.

From past visits....midweek (Tuesday - Thursday is better)

Camp is relatively clean and kept. A lot of 'extras' to keep children occupied. Wristbands definitely worth it for kids.....adults, only if you enjoy mini-golf and waterslides.

Security is horrible. Hassled us all weekend about our golf cart, yet do nothing about people raising heck until 1:00 am.

A fun weekend, but again....expectations.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    7
    6
    10
See reviews for
26
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

This was our family's first camping trip. I believe the worst part for us was the cleanliness of the facility and the bathrooms especially. With the high traffic of use, these were not up to standards of clean and are in need of much updating. The noise level at night after the 11:00pm curfew went unnoticed continually. It was more like close to 1:00am when the noise stopped.... so much for security monitoring it! This was our last trip here, we have heard many good things about the plymouth, indiana location and will try that next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Worst Jellystone park I have been to! Bathrooms were terrible! No toilet paper in the men's room, dity muddy floors, and toilets backed up ALL WEEKEND!!! Not just one time! Golf carts are out of control! Underage drives, and some with their music cranked up! YES on a golf cart! All dirt and gravel roads make for a very dusty place. Everthing on our site was covered in a thick layer of dust. Most of this was coming from all the golf carts zooming by! We will never go back and will tell everyone to stay away!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We were suppose to stay 7 nights, left after 5 nights. We hauled our camper and started our family vacation. When we first arrived we were advised the rec center was closed due to the employee having a family emergency. (ONE EMPLOYEE TO RUN THE WHOLE REC CENTER)? Really? Personally I think it is a two person job, you have arts and crafts and games, and prize redemption all in the same building. You only see the characters at the pledge of allegiance (done daily at 9a) and the hay ride. Other than that they are nowhere to be seen or heard of. Little disappointed. Hay ride was at 2 o clock all week, which is one of the hottest part of the day, rather it be done in the mornings or at night. But yet we had a water balloon toss at 6p? See a planning issue there? Also showed up at the Rec Center for a scavenger hunt at 5p like stated, in the Bear Facts the rec center employee (ONE LONE EMPLOYEE) had no idea why we were there or what for. After 15 minutes of waiting we were given a dollar in tokens and said they dont know what happened but they were not doing the scavanger hunt.
Oh best of all, they put this pine tar stuff down on the road that smells AWFUL and is sticky and sticks to your sandels and your feet. DISGUSTING! Oh but we were told no big deal, it wipes off with soap and water. This was there way of keeping the dust down on the gravel roads. WHY not slow the traffic down that is causing the dust?? People drive way to fast and speed limit is not enforced! We ate at the snack bar twice, fried food but it was very good!!! Ice Cream was good too! and the swimming pools need more mainteance. Vaccum daily maybe? We had to skim the pools ourselves to get the bugs out, looks like it could use a vacuum ran on them too! Handles were loose getting into the pool. Mini golf is a maintenance nightmare! Needs updating that is for sure. PAINT! Bathrooms were somewhat clean. I feel for how expensive this campground is, they should keep it clean, and keep up on the activiies. We were never offered a partial refund or anything for all the ammenties that were cancelled. Beach was closed the whole time we were there, have no idea why! We stayed in Millbrook Yogi Bear at Mothers Day weekend and it was by far more organized!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

We love camping and thought this would be a great place do go since it's so close to home. We were given an assigned tenting site only to get there and learn it was one big square site to be shared by 4 campers, cars included. In the middle of the square there is 1 electric power box for all, water spouts for all, surrounded by camp fire area and than pick your own section.

1st weeknight was nice and fairly quiet but for the raging golf carts and underaged drivers. 2nd night -Friday, we were surrounded by a family reunion with people walking all over our tent area, playing music and shinning lights until 2 am. They were up at 7. We had someone park there car 3 feet from our tent. No ranger came to tell them to shut up. 3rd night was very packed and at 9PM we left to escape the loud crowd and get peace and rest at home.

Pros: Lake, paddle boat rental, water slide, 3 pools, close to city, crafts for extra money, wagon ride, clean bathrooms most of time

Cons: Not a peaceful wilderness experience, arcade had 1/2 games "out of order," staff did not enforce quiet hours, unsupervised kids in pool areas, old playgrounds, not enough for young kids to do, barking dogs at night

I'd rent a cabin here but NEVER pitch a tent again

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

Stayed in a Cabin. Very clean, very roomy, very comfortable. Excellent campgrounds, lots of space - LOTS of space. Lots to do, very clean and kept up very well. Nice crafts/arcade area. Would certainly recommend to others.

However, two areas of concern

1) Bears were hardly ever around - staff told the kids "they are sleeping" but told the adults "we are short on staff". They might have been - but as a paying customer with kids, that's not MY problem.

2) WAY TOO MANY HIGH SPEED GOLF CARTS. Probably almost got hit at least a dozen times over 3 days - usually after sunset. They need to impose some rules on those carts, stop the under-16 year olds. Maybe require plates/tags on the carts so people can be reported and action taken.

However, aside from those 2 areas - I think it is an awesome place, very very clean, lots of fun, very very polite staff.

All in all - I'm glad we went and will definitely go again and also recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago,illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

Our family has been going to O'Connell's for the last 4 1/2 yrs at least 3 times a season and my girls cant get enough of it! It is convenient, staff is great, friday night pizza's is a huge help! Instead of cooking you have more time to relax ( happy hour)! Sunday breakfast is also great! The Ranger Station has all the amenities thanks to Monty the snack bar too! I would recommend this camp ground and have to many of my friends and family.
Yates Family Steve,Kristin,Hannah,Haley and Stephen

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to O'Connell's Yogi Bear Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Connell's Yogi Bear Park

Address: 970 Green Wing Road, PO Box 200, Amboy, IL 61310
Location: United States > Illinois > Amboy
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Amboy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 668
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your O'Connell's Yogi Bear Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o`Connell`s Jellystone Park Hotel Amboy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Connell's Yogi Bear Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.