We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEALL MANSION An Elegant Bed & Breakfast Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added BEALL MANSION An Elegant Bed & Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
BEALL MANSION An Elegant Bed & Breakfast Inn
407 E. 12th St., Alton, IL 62002   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winery Package
Ranked #1 of 2 Alton B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Troy, Illinois
1 review
“Last minute getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The Beall mansion was the perfect destination for a spur of the moment winter getaway to celebrate our anniversary. It is a gem close to home and the hosts, Jim & Sandy were wonderful. The atmosphere was beautiful and the guest room accommodations very lovely, especially fond of the homemade bath salts. The 24 hour chocolate bar was delicious! Definitely, a nice stay and would check it out if you are in the Alton area for antiques, Fast Eddies, eagle watching or wineries in Grafton.
Jon and Jackie

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    22
    0
    4
    1
See reviews for
19
213
15
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights & had such a wonderful, relaxing time. Our hosts were quite gracious, room was lovely, bed was super comfy and a great jacuzzi tub to boot! Enjoyed antique shops & lunch at Fast Eddie's, a trip to Aerie Winery in Grafton, and saw eagles on the Mississippi. Definitely splurge on breakfast in bed; it was to die for!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

The Beall Mansion was like taking a step back in time! It is beautifully decorated and welcoming from the first step. Jim and Sandy are awesome and gracious hosts, as well as the perfect tour guide. And, if you like chocolate, you will love the chocolate bar! P.S. If you would like a see (alot) of Bald Eagles - this is a great time of year to visit Alton, IL, and the Beall Mansion - as it is Eagle watching time! Jerry&Marilyn

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Beall Mansion is everything the website says it is and more. It is a beautiful house inside and out and Jim and Sandy do all the little touches to make it feel like home. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable and we certainly enjoyed the jacuzzi tub and the feather bed. My wife especially loved the chocolate bar as well:) We had a wonderful stay and enjoyed watching the eagles by the river the next morning.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The room was excellent and very attractive. The fireplace was a warm and cozy place to be when the cold front came. We also saw about 15 eagles the next day between Alton and Grafton. It was great place to relax and to have some quiet time for my wife and me. You and your staff were very friendly and helpful. I have already highly recommended it to my fellow workers at the office.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellwood, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This was our first time staying here. We truly felt as if we were home. The service exceeded our expectations. Our stay ended way too soon. We're already recommending to friends and we are looking forward to our next stay at the Beall Mansion.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We highly recommend the Beall! It's amazing that, even though we arrived at 10:30 pm and had to leave first thing in the morning, we still had a most memorable time at the Beall! Sandy welcomed us at the door and had us feeling within minutes like close friends as she showed us around the inn. We were enchanted by the beautiful, elegant, inviting home, by our luxurious, comfortable room, including jaccuzi, and by the chocolates, brandy, and warm drinks we enjoyed just before going to bed. Sandy and Jim have thought of everything plus more to make the Beall a very special place to stay. We will be back, and we'll be recommending the Beall to everyone we know!

Green Features: I am very committed to protecting the environment as an individual and on a community level. I very much appreciate Sandy's and Jim's same commitment at the Bealle! It's a win-win for Beall guests and for the environment, too!
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEALL MANSION An Elegant Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEALL MANSION An Elegant Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 407 E. 12th St., Alton, IL 62002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Alton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Best Bed and Breakfast" -RFT Best of St. Louis Award. Skip the usual hotel / motel. Whether you are a leisure or business traveler - you deserve to stay in the affordable elegance of the award winning BEALL MANSION An Elegant Bed & Breakfast Inn. Conveniently located along the Heartland Rivers Wine Trail in historic Alton - only 25 minutes from Lambert St. Louis International Airport and the St. Louis Gateway. Indulge! Treat yourself to our complimentary 24 hour "all you can eat" chocolate buffet. Relax! Unwind in one of our beautifully appointed guest rooms complete with HDTV, DVD, complimentary Wi-Fi, and private bath with Italian marble floor, shower, and whirlpool for 2 or clawfoot tub. Pamper yourself! Make our stay even more special with optional in room massage and spa services, romance, packages are available. Corporate, government, and extended stay lodging rates are available. A "USA Top 100 Gold Inn and B&B" Award Winning Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your BEALL MANSION An Elegant Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beall Mansion An Elegant Bed And Breakfast Inn
Beall Mansion An Elegant Hotel Alton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEALL MANSION An Elegant Bed & Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.