We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ALWAYS EXPECT THE FRESHEST AND BEST” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lobster

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Red Lobster
170 Homer M Adams Pkwy, Alton, IL 62002-5924
618-465-6554
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 85 restaurants in Alton
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Restaurant details
Godfrey, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“ALWAYS EXPECT THE FRESHEST AND BEST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Red Lobster is always a go to place when I want the freshest seafood and the best service. Their prices aren't the lowest but you can always count on good food, good service and the freshest in everything from their salad ot their seafood. And, who can resist the warm cheddar biscuits?!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    11
    6
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alton, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“"Great food for the Fish and Seafood lover.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Yes it's a chain, and I've eaten in one in too many states to count. The food is pricey but always excellent. A couple of times I've gotten broccoli that is beyond young and tasty, but in general, food is great!

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunker Hill, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Disappointed by service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

My wife and I went for Valentine's Day. We expected to wait, and weren't disappointed by a 40 minute wait. Our waiter kept say "How are we?". It seemed to be his first job outside fast food. He was slow to respond to our requests and needs.

We received our salad and appetizer and were pleasantly surprised. Little did we know this was the best part of our evening experience. Dinner was slow to come. My wife ordered a scampi like dinner which was ok. I order Neptune's Platter, which is my normal meal.

It was overcooked for starters. It tasted like all the food was cooked in old grease. The fish was tough and not very tasty.

When the time for our check arrived we received it fine but had to wait while our waiter took a break. We eventually were able to square our evening with a waitress, who apologized.

This was the first time in over 30 yrs of patronizing this place that I was disappointed in server at Red Lobster.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Always a great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

This is our home town Red Lobster, so we eat here often. However, we have relatives who live closer to the one in Fairview Heights and they drive over to Alton's Red Lobster because they say the service is better and everyone is so friendly. They even say the food is better. While I will agree that it is always busy, we've never had an extremely long wait....Friday and Saturday night is obviously the most crowded. Another friend noted how many of the servers have worked here for years.....that should tell you something right there. We're especially fond of one of the management team....Reggie....she is always so friendly and helpful, We always feel at home here.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

This is the Best Red Lobster from here to St Louis. The food is always top notch I have never been there when the food hasnt been excellent. Its always so crowded that can be the only draw back but then a good place to eat is always crowded and this place is always packed. Great food always fresh, well worth the money.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lobster also viewed

 

Been to Red Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lobster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.