We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quality restuaruant with a nice view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gentelin's on Broadway

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Gentelin's on Broadway
122 East Broadway, Alton, IL 62002
618-465-6080
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 90 Restaurants in Alton
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice quality restuaruant with a nice view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

It was a nice quality restaurant in Alton. The service was excellant and the food was very fresh and tasty! I loved the crab cakes.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    17
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Peters, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
“Great Ambience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My fiance and I had a wonderful experience; we were guests in town for the weekend and thought the menu looked good. Being from St. Louis, we are used to city prices and in a restaurant like this in the city you can expect to spend WAY MORE than we spent here. We started off at the bar for a drink and were pleasantly surprised at the price-- $6.00 for a Woodland Reserve and $4.00 for a gin and tonic! Can't really beat that at ANY restaurant.

Our table was extremely romantic, right in front of the fireplace. We had Dim Sum as an appetizer, which was absolutely delicious. For dinner I had the lobster and prawns-- the lobster was kind of lost in the tempura, and the prawns were a little overcooked, but all-in-all a beautiful presentation that was enjoyable to the palette! The risotto was simply to die for, in my opinion. My fiance had the ribeye special (and I should start by saying he's a ribeye snob, and the waitress did warn us that it wasn't a thickcut steak like he likes but more of a moderate thickness), which he found to be cooked perfectly and good tasting, just not the most mind-blowing steak he's ever had.

The staff was attentive, kind, professional, and the food presentations were beautiful. Service was quick. The ambience was great. Overall a great experience, and we would certainly go back again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sophisticated and fun at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Gentelin's is a fun place to have a drink, then sit down to a wonderful dinner! Always plenty of interesting menu choices that are sophisticated and tasty but priced below what you'd expect. One of the better places I've eaten anywhere in the St. Louis metro area. Worth the trip to the suburbs for this restaurant!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“All these great reviews can't be real”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

After reading all the rave reviews I really had my hopes up. Boy was I in for a disappointment. Don't get me wrong, I'm not one of those people that are impossible to please, but the quality of the food was pretty bad at any price, for what I paid, it was down right awful.

My wife and I both had the ribeye dinner so I cannot comment on the other entrees this place had to offer, but I have had much better steak dinners for one third the price from Ponderosa when they used to be in town.

The steak itself had no flavor. When I pay $70 for two steak dinners, I should not have to use steak sauce. It was also served cold and full of gristle. This was definitely not USDA prime beef. In fact, I would say it wasn't as good as what walmart has in their frozen food section. Their salads were served warm and wilted and their dinner rolls were about the size and hardness of dog biscuits.

After eating there, I have come to the realization that these other reviews could only of come from family and close friends of the owner because I do not believe these were honest reviews from real customers.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good on Broadway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

By far, the best restaurant in the Alton area. Had fish that was prepared perfectly. Good service and bottles of wine are half-price on Wednesday.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gentelin's on Broadway also viewed

 

Been to Gentelin's on Broadway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gentelin's on Broadway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.