We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not staying there ever again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip to your Saves list
Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5000 West 127th Street, Alsip, IL 60658   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alsip
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not staying there ever again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

Stayed at this hotel in Alsip for 4 nights on a business trip, on the 3rd night at 11:30pm was woken up by the sound of a large powerful vacuum cleaner in the hallway, this lasted about 15 minutes and then started up again at midnight. At approx. 12:130 am woken up again by the sound of scraping coming from the lobby which was down the hall from my room. Called the front desk to find out that they were stripping and buffing the lobby floor....at 12:30 am !!!! Was told that they had to do now and that it would only last for another 20 minutes or so. The next night my rental car was broken into while parked right outside the front doors. The hotel itself was clean enough, but the service was horrible.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    156
    79
    21
    19
See reviews for
146
70
30
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, IL
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2008

Stayed here before a flight out of Midway. Got in late and was greeted by friendly staff. Gave us the complimentary choc chip cookies. Yum, nice touch. Clean, nice room with great beds. So comfortable. Breakfast early the next day before our flight was a very nice buffet. All staff in rest. were wonderful too. Driver from the airport after our stay even took us to our car so we did not have to walk all over the parking lot. Special outstanding service. 9 miles from Midway. Recommend highly!!!

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

The south suburbs of Chicago do not have an overwhelming selection of nice hotels. That being said, the Doubletree provided a nice, average stay. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Nothing to write home about, but there were plenty of pillows on the bed, and the only thing outdated was the tube television. The hotel is huge, which tends to be a draw for large groups during the summertime. My husband & I just needed a relaxing place to crash after a reunion in the area, and didn't find much relaxation due to the traffic in the pool, fitness center, & hallways (which we could hear from our room). At 10pm the pool & fitness area were both filled with children, I am not exaggerating, you could not find a spot to use at all, they were overrun by one of the large groups staying there. This, of course, is no fault of the hotel, but I must note it, as it seems a popular hotel for family reunions, weddings, etc, so if you are looking for privacy at this time of year, you can forget it. Aside from the crowds, it was an acceptable stay. The hotel isn't in walking distance of anything, so if you are without a vehicle, you will be relying on the hotel restaurant. I always enjoy the DoubleTree cookies, and although there wasn't free continental breakfast, the hotel restaurant served a good breakfast , for a price I pretty much expected, around $11. Overall, the DoubleTree served it's purpose and provided a decent, average stay.

  • Liked — Comfortable beds, pillows, and DoubleTree cookies.
  • Disliked — Poor noise control when hotel is at full capacity
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2008

Right off I-294. Easy drive to Midway airport. Clean, comfortable. Large, warm indoor swimming pool.

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zeeland, michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2008

The Doubletree hotel is pretty standard as far as hotels go. Rooms were nice & clean, staff friendly and helpful, easy to get to. But we chose this hotel specifically for it's Park & Fly package with a shuttle to Midway, and we were more than impressed!

For our flight out on a Saturday morning, the driver was at the lobby 5 minutes early and so we were able to leave right away. He zipped us right into the airport and helped us out right where we needed to be. And on our return to Chicago late on a Friday night, we called the hotel from baggage claim and were told that the shuttle was right near the pick-up area so we could go right out and wait. And they weren't kidding!! We weren't even waiting outside 5 minutes when the shuttle pulled up! Again the driver was very friendly, helpful, and a God-send after spending the whole day traveling! He even dropped one couple off at the hotel entrance, and then drove us around the to the back of the hotel and drove us right up to our own van! The shuttle experience made this hotel experience for us!

  • Liked — the shuttle service to Midway!
  • Disliked — no breakfast included, dining room quite pricey
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge LA
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2008

The group I was hosting for a three day convention selected the hotel from a web search based on meeting room availability and value priced sleeping rooms. I rate the hotel and the service a "10". They were especially accomidating with last minute requests for minor changes in the meeting room seating, equipment and food, even on the day of the event, A real can do attitude! The only improvement they could of had would have been HD TV's, but we spent very little time in the rooms as our events kept us busy. They made making all the arrangements from 900 miles away like it was across town.

  • Liked — Friendly Service
  • Disliked — No HD TV
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2008

We really enjoyed the Doubletree in Alsip, Illinois. There was plenty of free parking and they have some good "Park and Fly" deals for anyone flying out of Midway and taking their airport shuttle. The hotel was clean, beautiful and well-maintained. My little boy, who normally is mostly interested in the pool and the elevator, kept saying "this is really pretty" when we walked through the lobby area.
All the staff we met were friendly and helpful. The pool area was very nice, and offers longer hours of availability than some other hotels.The exercise area had quite a selection of equipment. It is worthwhile to get a room package that includes the breakfast, which is in the hotel's restaurant.
We would definitely stay here again when we are in this area. The hotel is in a quiet area of the suburbs, so the only drawback would be if someone didn't have a vehicle, there isn't really anything like shopping, restaurants etc. in walking distance. (We did have a good pizza and salad delivered to the room though.)

  • Liked — The pool area. We wanted a hotel that was in a quiet area away from the traffic and noise of downtown Chicago.
  • Disliked — Stick to the main Interstate highways, it's much faster to and from downtown, (we made the mistake of taking smaller highways to get there).
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alsip
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago - Midway Airport
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago-Midway Airport
7.7 mi away
Marriott Chicago Midway
Marriott Chicago Midway
#49 of 178 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crestwood
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn Chicago Alsip
4.1 mi away
Hilton Chicago/Oak Lawn
Hilton Chicago/Oak Lawn
#1 of 2 in Oak Lawn
3.5 of 5 stars 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip

Address: 5000 West 127th Street, Alsip, IL 60658
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Alsip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alsip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Alsip, among the finest hotels near Midway Airport (MDW). We're conveniently located just 20 minutes from the MDW airport, where we offer complimentary airport shuttle bus service to and from(hours: 4am-11:59pm, reservations required). We offer 15,000 sq/ft of flexible event and function space, perfect for your wedding or business meeting. Connected to the hotel is the local favorite, Allgauer's Restaurant, featuring the best and most unique dining available in the South Chicago area. We have an indoor pool and fitness center waiting for you, we look forward to having you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Chicago Alsip
Doubletree Alsip
Alsip Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.