We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bouncy Beds” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip

Save Saved
You added Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5000 West 127th Street, Alsip, IL 60658   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay & Fly Special
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Alsip
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Bouncy Beds”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

The lobby and bar areas of this hotel were nice, nothing extradorinary, but nice. They had a lot of cool looking telephones in the hotel that provided me some nice phone shots. The room was decent, nothing special. Closet seemed like an afterthought as it jutted out into the room entrance and the closet doors were cheap.
$5 bottled watter was a bit over the top, but then again, it was the Hilton.
Enjoyed the warm cookies when we checked in and the staff was very helpful and friendly.
Did not enjoy the nights sleep, or lack thereof. The beds were hard and bouncy with bad springs. But if you like that kind of comfort, you'd be in heaven.
Nice big pool, but no whirlpool, which seemed odd and was a dissappointment.
Unsure how this hotel rates with others in the area, but it seems like it would've been average.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlsipDoubletree, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Thank you for review of our property. To address your couple concerns I do agree that the beds are soft, I too enjoy a much firmer mattress myself but this is definitely subjective to the user. But we did replace all mattresses back in 2008 and have a matress rotation program in place. We also have bottled water in smaller portion sizes available in our vending machines in the middle of the hallway. The ones in the room are premium Evian water and are twice as large as the size of the ones in the vending area. Once again thank you for your review and your business we look forward to serving you in the near future. I hope the above clarified some of the opportunities you mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    101
    48
    14
    14
See reviews for
90
47
19
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

My family, my wife's mother, and her sister and daughter stayed at this hotel as part of a Park and Fly package. We arrived and were promptly taken care of, the rooms were nice and clean, the hotel property was nice and clean, and the staff that we dealt with were very nice and professional. We took the shuttle to Midway at 5 a.m. and our driver was ready to go, helped us with our luggage, and got us to the airport on time. Upon our return, I contacted the hotel and was told that the driver was already outside waiting for us, so we grabbed our bags and headed out. The driver of the shuttle assisted us with our bags and drove us back to the hotel without delay. He was extremely professional, talked to us the entire way back to the hotel, assisted us with unloading our bags, and even went so far as to run back into the hotel and bring us all out fresh, warm cookies as our kids had mentioned they were hungry. We'll definitely be back for our next trip that requires flying out of Midway. It's not the closest hotel to the airport, but the people working there are what will bring us back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlsipDoubletree, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and exceeded your expectations with our park and fly package. I will let the front office manager know about your experience with our driver so that she can properly thank your driver. Thank you for your business and we look forward to serving you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

I stayed here one night before flying out of Midway, and I'd hands down stay here again if flying out of Midway. I live about 3 hours west of Chicago, so a park and fly is the best option for me. When I priced out park and fly lots then compared it to the Doubletree - you can't beat the price! I was able to stay overnight before my 8 am flight, get free transportation to and from the airport, PLUS park my car at the hotel for 12 nights for less money than just parking my car in a lot.

The hotel itself is very convenient - right off the highway with plenty of parking and great food options right nearby. The rooms were nice, nothing spectacular, but very clean and spacious for a one night stay.

The free hotel shuttle was just an added perk. Upon returning to the airport, the shuttle was already waiting for me!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlsipDoubletree, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
We are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed our facility and the rate that we offer compared to other properties in the area that might be closer to Midway. We also feel that our price to value relationship is superior to other hotels, once again even though we are a bit further from Midway Airport. Thank you for your business and your feedback, we look forward to serving you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, WI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

I booked 4rooms for our family. To begin our stay, the reservation was incorrect. Instead of correcting the error, the desk person kept telling me what she couldn't do. After several minutes of negative comments, I finally asked how the situation could be resolved. With a very poor attitude our situation was finally straightened out. (sort of, our rooms were supposed to be near each other, but one ended up on another floor)
The next bigger problem was a large group of women staying at the hotel. Sadly, this group partied like college kids on spring break, keeping quite a few people awake until the wee hours with their loud, drunken, vulgar, behavior.
I would like to compliment the night manager who apologized and offered us free breakfast. I also would like to compliment the staff of the restaurant. The service and food were top notch.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlsipDoubletree, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Once again we apologize for the inconveniences you encountered as our guest, but I am happy that you asked for a manager to assist you, and that you were satisfied with their response. The Pink Pajama Party occurs once a year. It is a great function that benefits Breast Cancer. We are very fortunate to have people in our community dedicated to such a great cause/charity. We look forward to serving you again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWitt, Iowa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

This hotel was completely satisfactory. I was in town for a youth volleyball tournament and this hotel was very close to the venue. I was pleased with the management for arranging a group discount for us. The pool was a little dirty (stuff floating in the water) so the kids only swam for about a half hour, which was disappointing. The bar area was very nice with a great selection for the parents! Rooms were fine and check-in was speedy.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlsipDoubletree, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Thank you for your response and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel during the volleyball tournament. I have brought your comment about the pool to the attention of our Chief Engineer, he will discuss it with his team as a role play. We do three rounds throughout the day to ensure areas are clean and conditionally sound, but it sounds like the pool was very busy that day and we didn't keep up with cleaning it more than three times, which I apologize for. If this occurs again in the future please just let us know and we will resolve the matter immediately. This is an easy fix for us and only takes around 20 minutes to vacuum the inside of the pool. Thank you again for your business and bringing this to our attention. All the best to you and your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012 via mobile

Booked through Priceline for an overnight stay before an early flight out of Midway. We did not need the shuttle, but it was offered to us several times. We greeted warmly by every staff person we encountered, and assistance was offered by all. The room was clean and comfortable. Although we were awakened by some loud guests, the duration was short and not repeated. The airport was a straight shot up the road - very convenient. Would definately stay again. Thank You!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlsipDoubletree, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind remarks. Our hotel prides itself on being hospitable and friendly to all our guests, it is the warm and caring personality of Doubletree. But we are sorry to "hear" that there was a bit of noise in the hallway. Please know that we have security in the hotel at night and if this should occur during another one of your stays please call the operator and let them know. The operator will then dispatch security to the area immediately. Thank you again for your business, and sharing your stay with others. We look forward to serving you again in the near future. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

We stay for convenience at the Doubletree when visiting family. Friendly staff, clean rooms.

My husband had a problem with the sheets coming untucked at the bottom of the bed a couple of nights; he commented that the sheets may be too small. Also, a blanket would have been appreciated -- I had to turn up the thermostat after the first night to avoid waking up cold.

But overall, an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlsipDoubletree, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay overall. For future reference we do have extra blankets, please just dial the careline or the operator and we will be happy to bring one up to you. Happy New Year to you and your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip

Address: 5000 West 127th Street, Alsip, IL 60658
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Alsip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Alsip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Alsip, among the finest hotels near Midway Airport (MDW). We're conveniently located just 20 minutes from the MDW airport, where we offer complimentary airport shuttle bus service to and from(hours: 4am-11:59pm, reservations required). We offer 15,000 sq/ft of flexible event and function space, perfect for your wedding or business meeting. Connected to the hotel is the local favorite, Allgauer's Restaurant, featuring the best and most unique dining available in the South Chicago area. We have an indoor pool and fitness center waiting for you, we look forward to having you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Chicago Alsip
Doubletree Alsip
Alsip Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.