We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thirsty Whale

Thirsty Whale
1700 Randall Road, Algonquin, IL 60102
847-458-8555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 102 Restaurants in Algonquin
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Pub
Restaurant details
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Always Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Incredible food in a sports bar setting. Ribs, burgers, fish tacos, etc. Chef Aaron Valdez is doing great things in Algonquin.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    7
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Very nice sports bar, with a lot of screens. The staff is very friendly and efficent, good selection of bar food and beers, I've tried the Black&Blue burger which was really good. Overall a very good experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, IL
Level Contributor
88 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and excellent service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We visited the Thirsty Whale on Saturday 2/8 with a group of friends to see another friends band, Jennerator perform. We got there early to eat before the band played and received great service from our server, Caitlin F. We ordered a couple of their burgers, the Black & Blue burger and the Steak burger. Both were hot and juicy and served with fries which appeared homemade. The $4.00 Mai Tais tasted good but were very weak. This is a great sports bar as there are TV’s everywhere so we could watch multiple sporting events at one time.
The atmosphere was upbeat and fun and the band sounded great!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
81 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very Good as Sports Bars Go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Thirsty Whale is an exception to the normal Sports Bar experience. Usually at a sports bar it is so loud you cannot hear yourself think, and the food is just so so. At Thirsty Whale, you can still have an excellent sports experience, because there are TV's everywhere, but the sound is not so deafening. We've been there with friends, and been able to have a normal conversation without yelling at each other. Last night, my wife and I carried on a normal conversation, and we could easily hear each other without having to raise our voices.

The food at Thirsty Whale is a step above the normal sports bar experience. My wife had the pulled pork nachos. They are delicious, and it's enough to share, plus bring some home as well. A great mix of flavors. They also had a special which was a pub burger and fries, so I got that. The burger was perfectly cooked, had a nice char taste and was nice and juicy. The fries were hot and tasty.

As far as seating goes, they have a bar area, some high top tables, some booths, and some regular tables.

The service was good, and our drinks were refilled as they needed to be. We've been to Thirsty Whale several times, and never had a bad experience there.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
122 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fun sports atmosphere with bar food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Great sports bar, great selection of bar food at good prices. Very casual and laid back. Must try the macho nachos... But be prepared to share they are huge!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thirsty Whale also viewed

 

Been to Thirsty Whale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thirsty Whale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.