We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“backdrop for a crime tv show” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Addison

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Addison to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Addison
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   600 East Lake Street, Addison, IL 60101 (Formerly Regency Inn & Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights, Save 25%
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Addison
A TripAdvisor Member
“backdrop for a crime tv show”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

i was put up for the night in your fine establishment by united, so i will open by stating that i did not intend to stay there. the shuttle, if we wish to call it such, took 1 hour and 20 minutes to show up. when arrived at the hotel, a mob of at east thirty people was pressing the one and only employee to receive a prompt check in. after waiting for what seemed to be an eternity, i was assigned a room that looked exactly like a crime scene i have previously watched on law & order. the carpet had stains whose origin i do not wish to know. the door bolt was ripped off the door frame, just like when in the movies the bad guy kicks the door in. you figure out the rest, i just tell you that this experience will make it in my memoirs one day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    19
    30
    55
    122
See reviews for
68
33
38
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DAVENPORT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

American Airlines made arrangements due to late flight. Hotel was dirty and shuttle ran poorly and was also dirty. Elevator sounded and felt like it was not functioning properly. Stairways were filthy. Would never stay there again. Contacted American airlines about hotel condition....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLENDALE HEIGHTS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Completely disatisfied with the whole experience. Will NEVER book a room for a fmily member at this hotel EVER AGAIN!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAngeles
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Hotel is more like a motel, nothing special, inside of room is clean, ok for overnight or a few hours. First time staying at Howard Johnson, but nothing like the Wyndham brand hotels that I have stayed. Doubt if I would ever stay at another HJ, after the appearance of this one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I found out that my reservation dates were messed up when I tried checking in at 1:00 am at Howard Johnson in Addison, IL, but the staff not only gave me the same room for the same price but refunded the money for the incorrect reservation day. The manager even urged me to call Hotels.com then & there so he could help get me a refund on my payment. I was a bit worried about the mixed up dates but their help, along with the polite & helpful Hotels.com representatives, made my day.
The rooms looked recently renovated and were very comfortable. The complimentary breakfast saved us from going out looking for food early in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nogales, Sonora
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stayed here during a week where a lot of hotels were full due to conventions and the NASCAR race. This was my choice based on location. I asked for a non-smoking room but there wasn’t one available. Breakfast included bread, donuts, bagels, 4 kinds of cereal, apples, milk, coffee and two juices.

The good:
In general, things are functional. The bed was OK, hot and cold water, TV, no issues with the sound of cars from the highway, air conditioning and wireless internet signal. There is a nice restaurant just across the street, and you can easily reach Route 83 and I-290.

The not so good:
Carpet stains in the hall, some signs falling off, small holes on the walls, the electric cord on the iron made sparks, you can see sections where they painted over repairs/holes, some furniture shows its age (nothing wrong about old stuff, but you see scratches and portions falling off) and some doors and walls are in need of a paint job.

The exercise room had the bicycle unplugged, the treadmill was noisy and it rattled, and the AC unit was not working so yes: it smelled.

The halls might look a little creepy and that brand color scheme on the doors and walls may not be all that pleasant to the eye.

In short:
I was able to sleep, have breakfast, connect to the web, watch TV and take a shower.
The place needs a LOT of love and care, and this will not be my first option in the future if things are crowded again.

Room Tip: North rooms face the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRIDGEWATER
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

It was really interesting that our room did not have a refrigerator. It was also interesting that the designated smoking rooms were located on the lower floors. All of the hallways look similar and I got turned around a few times, a simple sign that tells which way rooms are and where the lobby and ice machine are would be helpful to guests. They advertised a free continental breakfast, but the juice machine was broken, and everything was very limited. They didn't even have fruit. We came in late, and the parking lot was very dark and made us feel unsafe, so adding lights to the parking lot would help guests feel more welcome. The chain mail lock was on the door the wrong way, which rendered the lock useless. So like I said, simple fixes could go a long way to improve the quality of this hotel, and for being a "airport" hotel, it was not that close. The TV was also broken, and the light switch didn't work.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addison
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Addison
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Elmhurst - O'Hare
1.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Chicago Elmhurst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Elmhurst/Oakbrook Area
3.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Addison
14.8 mi away
Super 8 Bridgeview/Chicago Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Addison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Addison

Address: 600 East Lake Street, Addison, IL 60101 (Formerly Regency Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Addison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Addison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Addison 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Wyndham, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Howard Johnson Addison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Addison Hotel Addison
Addison Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Addison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.