We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really bad experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Silverwood Theme Park

Silverwood Theme Park
26225 North Highway 95, Athol, ID 83801
208-683-3400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 things to do in Athol
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in beautiful North Idaho, Silverwood Theme Park has over 65 rides, slides, shows and attractions, including four roller coasters, Boulder Beach Water Park, a steam engine train, live entertainment, restaurants, and more...
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really bad experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Bag inspection is a joke, Waiting lines nightmare, forget about partneship hotels discounts, very expensive and disorganized theme park. More like a big carnival park!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    225
    73
    31
    24
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perdue
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Family Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

What a beautiful, fun and very clean park. My 3 teenagers and ourselves had a jam packed wonderful day at the theme park and the adjoining water park. The day passes were very reasonably priced for the amount of different things that you could do. We ate lunch at the BBQ buffet in the theme park and it was great food, and not bad for price either.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, WA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Ups and Downs of Silverwood 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I took a large group to Silverwood on July 24 & 25, 2013. Overall, we had a positive and fun experience compared to similar destinations and attractions! Therefore, I would do it again and recommend it as a group or family destination.

Water park (Boulder Beach) Pros:

1. Clean and easy to navigate
2. Good array of slides of good duration
3. You can bring a backpack of water bottles into the park (unlike most who want to sell you them at $2 ea.)
4. Ease of access from both parks
5. Bathrooms were air conditioned and luxurious!
6. Only big slides were long lines; not overly crowded
7. Lifeguards were professional, very alert, and not overbearing.
8. All the staff were helpful and professional.

Water park Cons:

1. Not enough shade or beach chairs; savy park goers arrive before the park opened at 11 am and marked their territory by leaving their belongings all over chairs. You see a sea of "taken" chairs with nobody in them. Seemed rude. Not a single chair came available the whole day, although 95% of them were totally unoccupied. There needs to be rules about leaving your towels and shoes all day on a lounge chair.

2.Difficult to enjoy with children of mixed ages

The toddler area is too tame/lame; the child area is too scary with water jet guns and a giant water bucket dumping on you--even adults feel they are drowning! I heard a woman actually scream when she was dumped on.) All the 4 year olds were too small to use the water-slide in the kid toy area. They were frightened by the shock of cold water. This kid slide and climber toy area seemed more for 6-8 year olds. So our group's preschoolers were bored in the water park. The toddler area was a snore, and nobody was in it. They need to make it more small child friendly.

2. Although it is hot in summer (was 95 F) the water temp was shockingly cold (read completely unheated except in toddler area). We had a hard time enjoying the lazy river as it took so long to accept the temp and wade in far enough without grimacing. Be prepared that the water is much colder than other parks, where the water temp is monitored.

***Note: there were alcoholic swim up bars and people carrying disposable cups of beer around. Maybe they keep the water so cold so the adults feel the need for alcohol to stand the cold temp? ;)

3. You have to rent a double tube if you want one. Only single tubes are available (if you are willing to wait a long time for one in the lazy river). To float in the wave pool, you have to rent a specific mat all day. So I'd have to rent a selection of floatation devices just to do the lazy river and wave pools both with a floatation device and no stress. Other parks provide tubes of either type for free. I felt nickeled and dimed; if I go to a water park, I expect to be able to enjoy it once inside.

4. All the families felt the water park was awesome, but a bit difficult to manage in that children under age 6 kept us from being able to do anything. For families and groups with older children, it would be a better experience, especially if you arrive before opening, rent enough floats, wear water socks, and cover some chairs with you stuff. :)

-----

Silverwood (dry side)

I disagree with all the reviews that claim the regular park is no comparison to the water park. Due to all those reviews, I was pleasantly surprised to disagree! My group enjoyed the dry side much more. Although it is true the fast coasters had long lines (and no fast pass) the array of rides, beauty, food, clean restrooms, interesting layout, and cleanliness and staff enthusiasm made the dry side outstanding! We actually wish we had spent the first day there.

Most people seemed to have a good system, and I suggest it:

*Wear your suit under light tank top/shorts and enjoy Silverwood until afternoon when it gets too hot, then head to the water park to cool off in the heat of mid day.

There are posted rules that you can't just wear swim attire in the dry park; they got around this by wearing a swim suit with a minimal top over it and some kind of skirt or shorts over their suit. This was a great way to manage travel between parks.

Finally, group stuff:

Group buffet was an excellent way to feed everyone in our group of 50+. Food variety, quality and service was exceptional! The theme is Western BBQ, and they did a great job making it good. The pulled pork was the best I've had; fried wedge potatoes were well seasoned; green beans with bacon, fruit salad, and grilled chicken were soooooo gooood! I have never had such good food at an amusement park, and groups are usually treated to the lowest common denominator, so this was added value. I thought all the food in the park looked and tasted superior to most parks.

The prices were very reasonable. For groups, the price of a cafeteria meal in the park would have been about $10-12; our group lunch buffet was just under $8 ea. so a definite savings for 50 people and they got plenty of good, quality food.

The unlimited drink bands were a bit difficult to use (you have to wait in line throughout the park) but were put to best use at the Funnel Cake/Elephant Ear stand by the restrooms near the small kids rides and in similar limited food item lines.

Overall, I highly recommend Silverwood as a group venue. Everyone had fun, even though it was very hot, and everyone left wanting more. If I managed the park, I would put a little more effort into making the water park more comfortable for families with children under the school age, and ensure there is adaquate water comfort temperature, enough shade and seating, and less aggressive water gun to the eyes in the kid areas (hello contacts!).

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Great, but short people beware”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Super fun day, but if you are a short person (5'5" or under), do NOT ride the Cork Screw ride. The shoulder harnesses smashed the sides of my head the whole time. I left the ride feeling like I'd been in a car wreck. No kidding. It gave me an instant headache. They should revamp this ride for their patrons. No wonder there wasn't a big line! I liked the water park a lot better.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“TB”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The rides were very fun and I loved the water park there. The thing about this place is if you have young or short children the rides they can go on are very limited.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silverwood Theme Park also viewed

 

Been to Silverwood Theme Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silverwood Theme Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.