We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasted Time” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chriswell's Trails Inn

Chriswell's Trails Inn
213 Main St, Ashton, ID
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 9 Restaurants in Ashton
Cuisines: American
Description: Great breakfast, excellent large pancakes, hash browns cooked right , interesting and amusing taxidermy throughout log cabin looking rustic pplrestaurant
Restaurant details
Description: Great breakfast, excellent large pancakes, hash browns cooked right , interesting and amusing taxidermy throughout log cabin looking rustic pplrestaurant
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wasted Time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

when you go in for a hamburger you are thinking that the hamburger will be good how hard is it really to screw up a hamburger, well they did it tasted like soy. Not good

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    6
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Menan, Idaho
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I have eaten there many times over the last 20 years and the food can't be beat.
Excellent service,great food and quite fast for a sit down restaurant. They also used to do a Thanksgiving Dinner that was unreal and the proceeds were used to help the needy for Christmas.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IF ID
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good Food But Slow Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We've dined at Chriswell's Trails Inn numerous times and the common complaint we have that applies to almost every one of our visits is the service. The food servers are young kids of whom most don't understand good customer and the food prepartion and delivery to the tables is quite slow. My guess is that due to the small kitchen, the cook is cramped for space and cooking utilities. Beyond the service issues the food is good and is typical of what you might expect at a good truck stop.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
idaho
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“good family style place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Good food, good service and friends always around to visit with.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Solid meal outside Yellowstone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

On the way to West Yellowstone, its not always easy to find a place for dinner. We drove down the main drag of Ashton and passed the restaurant 1./2 block from the main road to West Yellowstone. Saw it on the way back - had a 1lb steak (!) and fried chicken with enough for sandwhichs the next day. We didnt have it, but they have smoked prime rib on the weekends- yum! We'd stop there again.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chriswell's Trails Inn also viewed

 

Been to Chriswell's Trails Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chriswell's Trails Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.