We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the Real Oahu!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North Shore

North Shore
North Shore, Oahu, HI
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$73*
and up
Oahu Shark Dive
Ranked #33 of 509 Outdoor Activities in Oahu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The northern region of Oahu is a destination in itself, offering a wide variety of natural wonders and resort activities.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“This is the Real Oahu!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

If I go to Oahu again is because of this place, we stayed in a Resort in Honolulu and took our car for a day tour to North shore and we were amazed, is beautiful!!! In one hand you have the beautiful beach, the water that invite you to stop you car and jump right there.... But in the other hand you have the green side valleys, mountains .. (Can't wait to go Hiking next time here). I saw a lot of Bed and Breakfast all over the road, so I'm totally staying somewhere in here next time. You can find fruit shops, restaurants, tiki shops, in your way. If you rent a car u are fine, the road is nice, don't need to pay for a tour.

I recommended that don't leave this trip for the end of your visit to Oahu (like us), there is way more to see/explore here and feel the real Hawaii, than the Crowded Resorts in Honolulu with the fancy stores.... Those you can find anywhere.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Natalia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
West Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The North Shore is fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

If you want to get away from the hustle of Honolulu, go to the North Shore. The scenery is breathtaking, the towns are delightful, the ocean is dynamic & you can see the green turtles at Laniakea Beach. Definitely stop at Giobanni's for shrimp!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank mjb1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“THE REAL BEAUTY OF NATURE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Driving from Waikiki to the North Shore is a real experience.Passing along the two lanes of Kamehameha Highway, one can appreciate the beauty of nature. On the right side, are the nice, clean beaches with waves suitable for surfing. We stopped by the Blow hole, China man"s Hat, Rabbit Island and Turtle Bay Resort. The beaches in this area are less crowded than those in Waikiki, however, parking space is almost full. We were advised not to leave our valuables in the vehicle just to prevent temptation. On the left side of our route, several mountains with hiking trails are breathtaking - Diamond Head and Koko mountain. Pineapple plantation is so vast. It is a must to see this part of Oahu and see its difference from the Wikiki side.,

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank apsphilippines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Iconic beaches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Take a break from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki and head up the road to the North Shore. About an hour or so straight up the guts past the Dole plantation. Easy drive and before you know it you are back in the 70's in Haleiwa. Old school Hawaii. Cruise along sunset, pipeline etc. waves were ok. Grab a bite and have a picnic at wiamea bay. Watch the shorebreak here. It might look calm but it will rise up out of nowhere and dump you on the sand. Great photo opportunities along the way.

Helpful?
1 Thank kayman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The most beautiful place in Oahu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Not as commercialised as the south cost and not as busy with so many beaches to choose from and literally just the two of us most of the time. Lots of surfing, snorkelling and other activities to do. And make sure you rent a car and just drive the single highway from one side to the other where you see endless beach and ocean on one side and amazing mountain views on the other

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank alexanae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Shore also viewed

 

Been to North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing