We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the Real Oahu!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North Shore

North Shore
North Shore, Oahu, HI
Improve this listing
Visit North Shore like an insider
Top Rated
$51*
and up
Oahu North Shore Adventure Half-Day Tour
Ranked #43 of 406 Outdoor Activities in Oahu
Activities: Surfing, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The northern region of Oahu is a destination in itself, offering a wide variety of natural wonders and resort activities.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“This is the Real Oahu!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

If I go to Oahu again is because of this place, we stayed in a Resort in Honolulu and took our car for a day tour to North shore and we were amazed, is beautiful!!! In one hand you have the beautiful beach, the water that invite you to stop you car and jump right there.... But in the other hand you have the green side valleys, mountains .. (Can't wait to go Hiking next time here). I saw a lot of Bed and Breakfast all over the road, so I'm totally staying somewhere in here next time. You can find fruit shops, restaurants, tiki shops, in your way. If you rent a car u are fine, the road is nice, don't need to pay for a tour.

I recommended that don't leave this trip for the end of your visit to Oahu (like us), there is way more to see/explore here and feel the real Hawaii, than the Crowded Resorts in Honolulu with the fancy stores.... Those you can find anywhere.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    165
    32
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The North Shore is fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

If you want to get away from the hustle of Honolulu, go to the North Shore. The scenery is breathtaking, the towns are delightful, the ocean is dynamic & you can see the green turtles at Laniakea Beach. Definitely stop at Giobanni's for shrimp!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
632 reviews 632 reviews
140 attraction reviews
Reviews in 166 cities Reviews in 166 cities
477 helpful votes 477 helpful votes
“What makes Oahu Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I suggest starting in Kailua in the morning for sunrise and then making your way north to the beautiful North Shore.
There are numerous stops along the way that will make for a fun day.
Once up North you will be able to enjoy the beaches that are as beautiful as any movie scene or dream.
There are many wonderful vistas of the Pacific on the right and the volcanic cliffs on the left.
The North Shore is known, but often overlooked by the crowds that frequent Maui, Kauai, and Waikiki.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“THE REAL BEAUTY OF NATURE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Driving from Waikiki to the North Shore is a real experience.Passing along the two lanes of Kamehameha Highway, one can appreciate the beauty of nature. On the right side, are the nice, clean beaches with waves suitable for surfing. We stopped by the Blow hole, China man"s Hat, Rabbit Island and Turtle Bay Resort. The beaches in this area are less crowded than those in Waikiki, however, parking space is almost full. We were advised not to leave our valuables in the vehicle just to prevent temptation. On the left side of our route, several mountains with hiking trails are breathtaking - Diamond Head and Koko mountain. Pineapple plantation is so vast. It is a must to see this part of Oahu and see its difference from the Wikiki side.,

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Iconic beaches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Take a break from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki and head up the road to the North Shore. About an hour or so straight up the guts past the Dole plantation. Easy drive and before you know it you are back in the 70's in Haleiwa. Old school Hawaii. Cruise along sunset, pipeline etc. waves were ok. Grab a bite and have a picnic at wiamea bay. Watch the shorebreak here. It might look calm but it will rise up out of nowhere and dump you on the sand. Great photo opportunities along the way.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Shore also viewed

 

Been to North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Shore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.