We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“North Shore” 4 of 5 stars
Review of North Shore

North Shore
North Shore, Oahu, HI
Improve this listing
Visit North Shore like an insider
Top Rated
$51*
and up
Oahu North Shore Adventure Half-Day Tour
Ranked #43 of 409 Outdoor Activities in Oahu
Activities: Surfing, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The northern region of Oahu is a destination in itself, offering a wide variety of natural wonders and resort activities.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“North Shore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

North Shore is where the surf competitions are held in December. I visited one of the beaches there on December 3, 2012 and watched the surfers for hours. The beach itself is not all that great, but the view of the surfers is amazing. On the way out stop by a shrimp truck and grab lunch (you'll be glad you did).

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    165
    32
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Driving around the island, we found ourselves in the North Shore at some point. It was more for my brother's benefit, to see the surfers, as he is a surfer himself. But we each enjoyed the scenery and awesome waves that the North Shore had to offer.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Phenominal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Beautiful beaches and very friendly locals. Much slower pace than Waikiki, which was just what we were hoping for. Go visit the HE>i in Haleiwa, you'll be glad you did.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort worth
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We saw a lot of interesting things on the north shore & one of them was the Fumis Shrimp Truck!
I guess it was some of the best shrimp we ate in Hawaii!
There's some great surfing spot/beaches.
It's a beutiful drive!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“So Many Offerings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The North Shore area is another beautiful gem on Oahu. We were fortunate to visit this on our arrival day, and a surfing competition was on going. We sat on the beach, watched incredible waves, and took in some incredible surfing observation.

Don't forget to venture towards Turtle Beach. Brutus apparently is a regular, and had no problem with the hundreds of pictures being snapped up by his sunning posture.

There is also Ka'ena Nature preserve to the west, still part of the North shore, and not to be missed.

There are plenty of shops in the area, food trucks, and local establishments to take in. I could of just sat there for hours watching the waves break.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Shore also viewed

 

Been to North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Shore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.