We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North Shore

North Shore
North Shore, Oahu, HI
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$51*
and up
Best Oahu North Shore Adventure Half-Day Tour
Ranked #48 of 466 Outdoor Activities in Oahu
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Surfing, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The northern region of Oahu is a destination in itself, offering a wide variety of natural wonders and resort activities.
fort worth
Level Contributor
86 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We saw a lot of interesting things on the north shore & one of them was the Fumis Shrimp Truck!
I guess it was some of the best shrimp we ate in Hawaii!
There's some great surfing spot/beaches.
It's a beutiful drive!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    455
    175
    34
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
310 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“So Many Offerings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The North Shore area is another beautiful gem on Oahu. We were fortunate to visit this on our arrival day, and a surfing competition was on going. We sat on the beach, watched incredible waves, and took in some incredible surfing observation.

Don't forget to venture towards Turtle Beach. Brutus apparently is a regular, and had no problem with the hundreds of pictures being snapped up by his sunning posture.

There is also Ka'ena Nature preserve to the west, still part of the North shore, and not to be missed.

There are plenty of shops in the area, food trucks, and local establishments to take in. I could of just sat there for hours watching the waves break.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“true Hawaii”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We spent a few days in North Shore in a rented beach front cottage north of Haleiwa..Haleiwa itself is a charming little town dotted with local boutiques , home of the Macky's shrimp truck, the Opal Thai restaurant and the renowned Matsumoto's shave- ice store. It is close to Sunset beach, a pristine stretch of sand and Waimea Beach Park , the place to go swimming with friendly waves and less tourists. In North Shore, you will come across beautiful local beaches shaded with coconuts trees with only a few kids surfing the waves, small cottages towns dotting the shorelines , locals fruits shacks and shrimps trucks, a slower pace of life and you will come to love Hawaii, the way the locals love their island.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mililani, Hawaii
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“North Shore! :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Chill and full of "hippies", North Shore is the place to go if you want a small laid back town. Famous for its surfing competitions in the winter, and with wooden buildings reminisce of Monterey, CA, it's all pretty chill around here. Good food, good people, calming seaside (unless the good huge waves are in!) especially down by Pupukea where there's less people. I like to go there and just sit on a rock in the shade of the trees and meditate. :)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
110 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Norht Shore is a must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We drove to the North shore two or three times; good place to watch the surfers. It rains a lot on the north side, however, we went prepared and spent a lot of time just people watching and enjoying the flavor of the islands.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Shore also viewed

 

Been to North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Shore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.