We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth making a trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North Shore

North Shore
North Shore, Oahu, HI
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$73*
and up
Oahu Shark Dive
Ranked #20 of 245 Attractions in Oahu
Type: Outdoors
Activities: Surfing, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The northern region of Oahu is a destination in itself, offering a wide variety of natural wonders and resort activities.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Definitely worth making a trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed in Waikiki so we rented a car and made a day trip out to the North Shore Beaches. North Shore of Oahu is lot more rustic as compared to very modern and busy Waikiki. Started with Laniakea Beach, where we were luckly to see about 10-12 green sea turtles on the beach and made various stops on Kamehameha Highway on the way back to Waikiki - Waimea Bay Beach Park, Pupukea Beach , Sunset Beach. On the way , grabbed a quick bite to eat at Ted's Bakery, close to the Sunset beach. If you reach around later in the afternoon , not all items on the menu may be available
Driving on the the highway on the western side of the island has many amazing views of the mountains and the sea

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    145
    31
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“must-do day trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

It's nice to get away from Waikiki. Haleiwa is laid-back. We have lunch at Jameson's, inside in the bar with the locals who are friendly. We always have wonderful conversation and learn new things by chatting it up there. We also love to watch the huge waves crashing it at the Turtle Bay resort, from the pool bar.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wave Action”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The best time to see the waves is in Dec-Feb. To sit on the patio eating lunch and to see the waves was fantastic. Many times on the beach you see the monk seals and that was fantastic and great picture opportunity.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“North Shore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Great place to go to get out of Honolulu and see what Hawaii is really about. All the restaurants are great here with great prices! I went camping on the North Shore a few times and truly enjoyed how peaceful and clean both places were!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“North Shore Oahu..rocks!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

aloha again, I was told to go to the northshore of Oahu for the pretty beaches and snorkeling (i went in summer so the waves were small to none....if you go in winter its too big to swim..but cool to watch the surfers!!! I went in summer so great place to swim... but DONT rent a car..NOOOO parking anywhere, if there is you pay for it.. I took THE SURF BUS.. its like renting a car or taking a shuttle but you have a driver showing and telling you all this great infomation u would never learn on your own!!!! I love learning about history an why this is here or that is there or about the people who live in a certin area..an you can't goggle everything..so take the surf bus shuttle to northshore.The conicerge said the surf bus is best..an it was!!!!!... they told so much cool information about the beaches and the turtles...then i went hiking to a waterfall and jumped in for a swim an then went snorkeling..the driver can drop you off at 10 different stops an you go enjoy at your own pace!!!! its a great tour because its NOT really a "TOUR" its just some nice guy driving you to all cool HIDDEN spots!!!! take the camera an plenty of batteries..cause its soo pretty up there!!!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Shore also viewed

 

Been to North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Shore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.