We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No life guards, rocky swimming base but beautiful location...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kualoa Regional Park

Kualoa Regional Park
49-479 Kamehameha Hwy, Oahu, HI 96744-5133
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 242 Attractions in Oahu
Type: Beaches, Parks, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Park located on the east and north side of Oahu, famous for its view of Mokolii Island (Chinaman's Hat), and known for its swimming, picnicking, barbeques and camping.
Madison WI
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“No life guards, rocky swimming base but beautiful location...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We loved the cool breeze and the beautiful view of Chinaman's Hat in the foreground with the Ko'olau's in the background but there were no life guards at the life guard station and it was too rocky and murky to enjoy swimming. The grounds are obviously well used and could use some clean up and care.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    71
    19
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Fun place, good tours.
The Jungle tour was good, got to taste some exotic items like guava, vervain flower (tastes like mushroom).
The movie set tour was OK, and secret beach was fine.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“2- Hour ATV tour is the only way to go!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I originally was going to do the all day tour so that we could do the Catamaran, horse ride, jungle tour and ATVs but after I read the reviews on a coupld different websites I decided differently. I still think the all day would have been fun but the 2 hour ATV ride was the way to go. Instead of the hour ride on the all day tour which would only give you 20 minutes into the jungle and then you would have to head back to the ranch, we got a full 1 and 45 minutes. WE toured the left hand side of the jungle, saw mulitple movie sites including, Godzilla, Pearl Harbor, 50 First dates, Lost, and the most recent Journey 2 (which was very cool). I didnt like that we had to stay in a single file line the whole way but I understand that is how they keep everyone safe, especially those who have never ridden before. But that aside, seeing the jungle in a completely open way, no walls , scenery surrounding you, and the wind going through your hair,, made it worth it. WE had a great time. THere is definitely NO better way to see the Hawaiian jungle then to do an ATV tour. I just wish we could have kept going and done a whole day tour ont he ATV that covere both sides of the jungle. The moutain views were absolutely breath taking!!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Kualoa ranch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We took the movie sites tour, which was fun and even interested our teenagers! Good value for money. The most amazing thing for me was the absolute beauty of the location - truly stunning with the mountains and the sea.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Save your money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Over priced ,boring atv ride not long enought at exactly 1 hour but had originally thought was paying for full day .jungle tour was ok and cataraman was ok .overall money could have been better spent .:( travler trapp !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kualoa Regional Park also viewed

 

Been to Kualoa Regional Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kualoa Regional Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.