We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Light blue water and good waves.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waimanalo Beach

Waimanalo Beach
Oahu, HI
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 329 Attractions in Oahu
Type: Beaches
Activities: Sunbathing, Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A large beach in Oahu.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Light blue water and good waves.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This is a beautiful beach, right next to big mountains on the east side of O'ahu. The water is light blue and the waves are fun to play with. Bring your buggy board for sure! Some people are doing canoeing sometimes. They tend to have competitions during the summer. Worth checking it out!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    25
    4
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Drove to Waimanalo Beach, which isn't too far away from the main centre. The drive was amazing, fantastic views and lots to see. The beach was quiet, lots of parking and short walk to the shore. Unfortunately due to jelly fish, the beach was closed for swimming. Our children were happy to play in the sand under the trees and walk along the shore. It was relaxing and amazing views.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Most beautiful beach on Oahu!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I can't say too many good things about this beach!! It's WONDERFUL! I have been there numerous times during my two trips to Oahu and I would live on this beach if I could! It's never crowded! The water is more beautiful in person and I am in love with the ironwood trees in the background. All of my screen savers are pics from waimanalo :) we even took our honeymoon pics there! Kai- Photo is awesome by the way if your looking to get some great pics done from your trip! I will visit more in the future :)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“You won't believe your eyes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We chose to have our wedding photos shot here by a company called "Above Heaven's Gate". This beach is also know as Angel's Bay with Rabbit Island in background view. I give this beach on a scale of 1 to 10. 10 being the highest score. Take pictures here if you want the big time jealous factor from family and friends.:) It's sooooooooooo worth it 100%.
If looking for a nice beach with view and not crowded this is one of them. Pack a cooler, chairs, tent and water fun. Don't forget a umbrella for some shade depending on time of day. Sand is hot too. There is a bathroom and swim suit changing area near the parking area which is shaded. Bring the kids to enjoy the small surf and clear water. Enjoy!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“One of my Fave beaches on Oahu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Pretty secluded, tucked away, until you walk out of the trees and then it's jaw-dropping gorgeous. White sand beach (which can get HOT so wear slippers). Water is great, waves crash pretty close to shore, so maybe not a great surf spot. Fun for families. Can also camp here which would be fun. Parking lot isnt huge, but its decent.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waimanalo Beach also viewed

 

Been to Waimanalo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waimanalo Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.