We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Halona Blowhole

Halona Blowhole
Kalanianole Highway, Oahu, HI 96825
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Small Group
$42*
and up
Natural Highlights of Oahu Small Group Adventure
Ranked #84 of 242 Attractions in Oahu
Type: Geologic Formations, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This is an intriguing geographical spot where the ocean has undercut the lava and drilled a hole through to the top.
Unalakleet, Alaska
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Worth a stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Stopped here on the way around the island, just to see the different sights. Didn't catch of the holes blowing, but is a beautiful place to just view the surrounding area.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    72
    35
    8
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Worth a stop but make sure you stay for a while”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Just driving around the island and stopped here for the beautiful scene. Learnt that it is a blowhole on our GPS, just wasn't lucky enough to see it blow at our stay....

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Worth a stop on your driving tour.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stopped here whilst driving around the island , and were very lucky the conditions were good for the blow hole to be active. Even if it wasn't , the view from this point is beautiful, and great for photos.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Worth a stop on a road trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

On our way to the north, we stopped here for a peek of the blow and it was a good stop. If anything, the surrounding sites are nice also. Warning: handfull of tour buses stop here, in case you prefer to avoid that...

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Stopped by twice on our way up the road. First time it wasn't blowing very high, tide must have been low. It was just spurting, but it was still a very scenic view. The second time it blew pretty high. It was spectacular.
A few people saw whales spouting off shore too. To your right is a beach where they filmed From Here to Eternity. There were a few people swimming off that small beach but it was a climb to get there. Every look out we stopped at was beautiful but seing the Blow Hole spouting was special.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Halona Blowhole also viewed

 

Been to Halona Blowhole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halona Blowhole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.