We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to eat in Maui” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hali’imaile

Hali’imaile
900 Hali'imaile Road, Maui, HI 96768
808.572.2666
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hali’imaile is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 811 Restaurants in Maui
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Hali'imaile General Store is Bev's original and most acclaimed restaurant featuring eclectic Pacific regional American cuisine with Asian overtones. We strive to use fresh, local ingredients and service with aloha. We look forward to sharing meals with loved ones, close friends and our new friends. Mahalo for your support and a hui hou (until we meet again).
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
348 reviews 348 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in Maui”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We went here on rec of our server at Sheraton Maui who claimed this place was better than Mama's Fish House (which for full disclosure we havent been to but she had) and so we decided to go there.

This is an award-winning Bev Gannon restaurant that my whole family truly enjoyed (came for lunch); it is located in a pineapple field in an historic building. Come here you wont be disappointed and will surely say it is the best place to eat in Maui!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    409
    153
    61
    28
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Cute setting, nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Nice place with an old upcountry kind of charm in Maui. Food was quite good although not superior. We were not disappointed it is important to say as the food was good and the service excellent. Having a salad and appetizer appears to be enough with nice portions. Still highly recommend!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Resting on their laurels, so sad...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We have been going to the General Store for the past 15 years. Each time we are on Maui, we make an effort to go Last night was a major disappointment. The only thing that seems to change are the prices! The food was good, but lacked the innovativeness I expect from a "fine dining/fusion restaurant." The up charge of 100% on the wine was also unpalatable. It's truly sad to us that this wonderful gem does not evolve. Pricing is a major issue, as was the lack of new and creative dishes. I hope Beverly Gannon, who was there last evening, makes some changes to bring this back to its formal glory.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy W, General Manager at Hali’imaile, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Aloha Mathew,
Thank you for being a loyal guest of ours for the last 15 years. We value all feedback and we are sorry that you do not feel that the menu has "evolved" to your liking and that the pricing is not warranted. I have forwarded your comments to the owner, Bev Gannon and she asked me to send her apologies and also express her disappointment that you did not call her over and discuss your menu suggestions and pricing opinion with her. If you had given her the opportunity she would have explained that she follows industry standard costing and that she does her best to keep the priing in line, sometimes to the detriment of the restaurants bottom line. This has always been a challenge as the cost of goods on Maui far exceeds the cost in many other places as I am sure you have realized with one visit to the grocery store. We do hope that you will give us another try, if not, thank you for your years of patronage and thank for taking the time to share your feedback with us on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Another Maui favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We visit every time we come to Maui. Take a little drive upcountry for a wonderful dinner. Make sure you make reservations if you're going for dinner. Great atmosphere, always full of locals.. Especially on Aloha Mondays! Make sure you bring some canned goods to donate and receive a discount on your meal. Appetizers are amazing! Our favorites are the Macadamia nut crusted Mahi Mahi and the Ahi tuna!! My kids love it too! Make sure you grab Bev's cookbook so you can try these at home.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hana, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“With a Professional Chef's Name Attached, I Was Not Impressed.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We did a double date here for dinner and we all ordered different dishes. For the price tag, you sure do get a lot of the cheap stuff, (rice, potatoes, etc.), and are left wishing you had more of the main dish. Food was not bad, but also didn't "WOW" any of us. Our server did a good job, but the food was just forgettable. I live on Maui and I will never be going back to eat here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hali’imaile also viewed

 

Been to Hali’imaile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hali’imaile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.