We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hali’imaile

Hali’imaile
900 Hali'imaile Road, Maui, HI 96768
808.572.2666
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hali’imaile is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 708 Restaurants in Maui
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Hali'imaile General Store is Bev's original and most acclaimed restaurant featuring eclectic Pacific regional American cuisine with Asian overtones. We strive to use fresh, local ingredients and service with aloha. We look forward to sharing meals with loved ones, close friends and our new friends. Mahalo for your support and a hui hou (until we meet again).
Alton, Illinois
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We ate lunch here after our tour of the pineapple fields. The enchilada pie was excellent. The quaint atmosphere was enjoyable and the attention of the server was very unexpected.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    153
    61
    28
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I had lunch here and it was the best meal I've ever had on Maui. Service was fanatastic as well! Well worth the drive to get here!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Gastronomical delight on Maui”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

You normally would not expect the type of food and service for a luncheon experience. It is hard to describe a food experience when it is off the scale fabulous. Wendy the bartender prepared her award winning Tai Mai, one of the best mixed drinks I have ever had and the Lilikoi margarita was outstanding. The sashimi tower, Kailua pork enchilada and the fresh fish plate of red snapper were all prepared to perfection. The presentation was beautiful along with the service which was very professional and friendly. To top it off Bev Gannon was there and we were able to chat with her. Well worth the drive. There really is no view but historic. Definitely a place to return to on our next visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Food! Wish it Were Closer to Wailea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stay in Wailea so only drive up to the General Store a couple of times during our two week stay. We always enjoy the food and would probably rate it our favorite if it were closer. Try anything on their menu.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, Washington
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A Taste of Upcountry Maui”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This was one of our most memorable restaurant experiences on Maui. It was a historic atmosphere of what Maui off the beaten path is like. The restaurant itself has outstanding service and cuisine. We were there for lunch. The drinks were unsurpassed and made with fresh fruit juices. We had a sandwich which wasn't just a sandwich, it was a culinary experience. The touch of pineapple added was an ingredient that we had not expected. It is a highly recommended experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hali’imaile also viewed

 

Been to Hali’imaile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hali’imaile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.