We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEWLY RENO'D improved , the gateway to adventure on maui” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sprecks Plantation House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Maui
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sprecks Plantation House
Save Saved
You added Sprecks Plantation House to your Saves list
Spreckelsville, Maui, HI 96779   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 51 hotels in Maui
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“NEWLY RENO'D improved , the gateway to adventure on maui”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I have previously reviewed Specks Plantation House, this is an updated review as a new owner has renovated and updated the house.
I have stayed here multiple times now for over 15 years and it is better then ever. For reference, I have also stayed in Kihei and Kaanapali for a good contrast. I prefer this location and area.
New reno's include new granite counter-tops, flooring, paint and appliances, furniture, beds and couches. Wifi is free and patio spaces and barbecues are ample sized. The cutlery was new as was the linens. All the studios are of ample size for a couple, the couch folds out of extra sleeping space for the a child or two perhaps , but 2 couple would be cramped.
I recommend this place for a quiet Maui experience , close to the action BUT away from the resorts and busy beaches.
BUT , while sprecks house is a great find the location is this spots trump card as its on Maui northshore.It is on the gateway to the best sightseeing that Maui has to offer!
Example, going to drive the Hana highway? Well, its a long all day dawn to dusk activity , that you should not rush, and Spreckshouse is right on the Hana highway.
If your staying in Kihei you spend approx 15 minutes just getting to the Spreckshouse area. Makena is 30 minutes away and Kaanapali a full hour!! The same goes for driving up to Haleakala. The start of the drive up to Haleakala is just 3 minutes away. The Iao valley? a right turn out on the Hana highway and straight through Kahului and Wailuku.
Now thats easy! no time wasted.
Looking for some of the best of old Maui? well a good sample of that can be found out your door, a left turn on the Hana highway , one minute up to Paia town. Want more ? A right turn through Paia , brings you to Makawao town, another 10 minutes up the road. Both are Maui must do's as both towns offer shops, art galleries , and highly rated inexpensive restaurants.
Beach time? Its a one minute drive to Baldwin Beach. This is my personal favourite as its uncrowded on a busy day, over a mile long. Lifeguards are on duty at the far east end, ( day hours only) and an unsupervised but safe sheltered pool on the other closest to spreckshouse.
One thing about this beach and any Hawaiian beach , always be careful it can get rough, but its beauty is that it is as elemental and wild as a Maui beach gets!
Kiter, windsurfer or surfer? Hey.....you are on the northshore!
The one downside and a warning is that there is airport noise from Kahului airport, this can go into the early evening, with the occasional plane later at night , but we got used to it. There is no traffic noise or street noise to speak of.

My summary , like crowds? Lots of noise, BEWARE dont go to Sprecks Plantation House! Like a gateway to adventure living in a local quiet Maui neighborhood at an affordable price ?

This is the spot.

The truth is if you have never been here before, you will fall in love with Maui. You will see more of what others do not see in the crowded touristy big resorts. Some of those people never leave those resorts...pity...they ever really see Maui.

The bottom line is this for a given length of stay , you will save money and as such you will be back.....much sooner.

Room Tip: Having stayed in all the suites , we liked the mango studio space the best, with a Lanai ( patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    0
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
5
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed in the Hibiscus Room while at Spreck's Plantation and it was very comfortable, clean and had brand new appliances. It had a pull out sofa bed in the living room in addition to the queen size bed. It is in a great location - walking distance from Sprecksville beach and Paia, which has some really great restaurants. I really enjoyed the family atmosphere. They had a washer and dryer and a collection of toiletries/supplies which have been left behind which was great if you needed a squirt of shaving lotion, suntan, laundry detergent... u named it, there was a bottle of it. Nice touch. There is a beautiful tree for climbing and a picnic table & gas bbq out front. Outdoor showers were a plus. I really, really enjoyed my stay here. The owners are fabulous.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, UT
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

My girlfriend and I just stayed at the Sprecks Plantation House for two weeks. It was in a great location if you are a kitesurfer, as you could bike to Kite Beach or a short drive into the town of Paia. The place was new, nice, and modern, but also had tons of "Hawaii Character." I would highly recommend this spot if you are looking to stay in the Paia area on Maui.

We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

I was in Maui for almsot 3 weeks for work and Sprecks Plantation was perfect. It is so close to Paia and Kahului. The Hibiscus Suite was clean, perfectly furnished and all newly renovated. The wak to Baby Beach and Sugar Cover is just 10 minutes away. Couldn't ask for a better spot and looking forward to going back and will tell my friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

For us, Sprecklesville and Sprecks Plantation House was the perfect base for our two week stay in Maui. We're active and were not looking for accomodations we would necessarily spend a lot of time in. Sprecks is central to windsurfing beaches, close to Paia (which we love), close to the Haleakala Crater (which we road our bikes up!) and close to Kahalui (which we frequented for beer runs and fresh seafood). That said, the facilities at the Plantation House fit the bill - recently reno'd as mentioned by others, and with amenities like gas bbq's, outdoor showers and laundry which made life easy. All in all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Immaculate, peaceful, private and beautiful! I was in Plumeria suite for a month. It was spacious and had everything I needed and wanted.The owner, Carolyn is welcoming and kind. Her kitty, Puddy greets everyone in the driveway at night. Close to the airport, Paia, surfing beaches, and walking distance to baby beach for those with little ones.Easy to get to Lahaina and Kihei from here.Some airplane noise, no traffic noise at all; mostly just the wind in the trees and bird-sounds..
Not for those who require ocean vista from their rooms or for the party types---although both experiences are not far from here

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We recently stayed at Spreck's in January 2012 in the Bamboo studio and Mango suite The units are beautifully renovated with brand new everything, including owners. The units kitchens are well stocked with everything you need for preparing meals "at home". The bamboo studio has a fabulous outdoor shower which was awesome. The Mango suite is very private with a front lanai which looks out at Haleakala crater. The privacy of Spreck's was just what we needed. The 5 minute walk to the beach was well worth it. The beach was basically deserted every time we went there! Very relaxing. The location on the North Shore is fantastic, close to the airport and the little town of Paia. Spreck's is defiantly the place to stay if your looking for a relaxing vacation place. We will definitely be returning to Spreck's on our next trip to Maui

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sprecks Plantation House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sprecks Plantation House

Address: Spreckelsville, Maui, HI 96779
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 51 hotels in Maui
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Spreckelsville on Maui's beautiful North Shore, Sprecks Plantation House is the perfect place to enjoy all that Maui has to offer. Our recently updated accommodations offer a charming, tropical ambiance and private lanais (Hawaiian for patio). Listen to the gentle rustle of palms in the trade winds while you relax after a long day of sun, surf and adventure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sprecks Plantation House Hotel Maui
Sprecks Plantation House Maui, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sprecks Plantation House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.