We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definately better than Outback” 3 of 5 stars
Review of RB's Black Angus Steakhouse - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
RB's Black Angus Steakhouse
4465 Honoapiilani Highway, Kahana Gateway Shopping Center, Maui, HI
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Definately better than Outback”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This was a restaurant that was close to our hotel. The Maui onion soup and Maui onion gravy for the Loco Moco were both excellent. The food in general was good, and the brunch portions were all very large. Decor was fairly normal, but the food is definitely better than Outback. We had a good waiter and received a lot of water refills without having to ask.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    1
    5
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oregon City
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Slow service high prices”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We gave up and left when after an hour we saw other people not being served too. High prices... dated decor... we never tried the food.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taft, California
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Couldn't wait to leave”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our first day being in Maui and being hungry, we were excited to see a restaurant name we recognized, BLACK ANGUS. But the food was FAR from Black Angus quality. We should have realized - being the ONLY people in the restaurant, that something was wrong. It took more then an hour to get a lunch size filet mignon / baked potato & 3 fish tacos. The filet mignon was (not)a filet at all. I'm not sure what kind of meat it was, but it was definatlly NOT a filet - it was so tough, I could NOT even cut through it, and the baked potato had fake cheese on it that DID NOT melt. I complained & the waitress apologized & took it back for another try - another 1/2 hour & out came a smaller cut (also NOT filet mignon) but a bit easier to cut. My husband had been finished eating his supposed to be 3 tacos, but came out being only 2, long ago, and also complained to me. that it too, was not good, so I got mine to go. We paid quickly and got out of there, hoping our vacation would get better. WE WILL NEVER GO THERE AGAIN - obviously the cook doesn't know his cuts of meats, or how to cook them, plus - he can't count. Don't waist the precious time you have in Maui waiting too long for a lousy meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek, Arizona
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Food was ok, expensive tho. Staff was good. It was quiet and we got right in. Sorry we didn't eat in a brighter restaurant beings how we were in Maui.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The food and service was excellent. The staff friendly and the music was very great. The table sizes were large enough for family and comfortable.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RB's Black Angus Steakhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RB's Black Angus Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.