We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You really should walk down the street unless you order to-go.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kamaole Poolside Cafe

Kamaole Poolside Cafe
Maui Coast Hotel, Maui, HI
Improve this listing
Ranked #580 of 787 Restaurants in Maui
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“You really should walk down the street unless you order to-go.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

I've heard around town that they are about to have a major turn-over and it can't happen fast enough. There are a few things a patron should never hear: 1) The manager walk up to the bar and scream, "What's that smell? Must be my @$$" (a couple of nights ago)... 2) Hear a server indicate he wants to assault a customer, which was me, and degrade the rest if his customers behind their back when he picks up their drinks... 3) Have the bartender do something to your drink in retaliation for something the aforementioned server lied about when he was the one that gave you terrible service at the sister property down the street. Way to keep it classy...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    5
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maui, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The pool side cafe has changed ownership not long ago for the better. The new owners, who also own Cafe O'lei in Kihei revamped the place beautifully. The chairs are really comfortable, nice and clean utensils. First, I was surprised to get my red wine in a plastic cup, but I forgot that I was sitting at the pool side where no glasses are allowed. The sweet potato fries are fantastic, great portions, great price.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Another Hidden Surprise in Kihei”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

This pool side cafe is run by Cafe O'Lei and you can tell. its hidden from view by the surrounding trees, but once you enter, it's a little oasis. The size of the breakfasts are large. the hamburger patties for the local moco was very delicious. If you like corn beef, beef hash was superb. We're definitely looking forward to our next breakfast or brunch.

We went back for lunch and were quite happy once again with our food. The hamburger was large with high quality meat that was very tasty. The corn beef in the Reuben sandwich was very fresh and delicious. As an added bonus both came with large steak fries. We left very full and looking forward to our next meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Another Hidden Surprise in Kihei”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

This pool side cafe is run by Cafe O'Lei and you can tell. its hidden from view by the surrounding trees, but once you enter, it's a little oasis. The size of the breakfasts are large. the hamburger patties for the local moco was very delicious. If you like corn beef, beef hash was superb. We're definitely looking forward to our next breakfast or brunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Maui Coast Hotel Poolside Cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This poolside cafe has a nice outdoor atmosphere and good food. We visited for a late dinner. The service was great, other than it taking a while for someone to seat us. They had live music and dancing which was fun. The food was good, but we felt the drinks were a little weak- lots of ice. The convenience of it being right on the hotel property was a huge plus.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kamaole Poolside Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Kamaole Poolside Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kamaole Poolside Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.