We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haleakala Sunrise Tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Polynesian Adventure Tours

Polynesian Adventure Tours
Maui, HI
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$97*
and up
Ranked #216 of 313 Tours & Activities in Maui
Attraction details
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Haleakala Sunrise Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was our 2nd trip to Maui and the first time we skipped Haleakala because I did not want to wake up at 3am while I was on vacation. I'm really glad we decided to do it this time. It's definitely a once in a life time experience. Plus, our tour guide Ron was very informative about the history of the area.
Make sure you bring a heavy sweatshirt/blanket with you. Gloves & hat too if you have them, it's usually only 35-40 degrees once you get up there.
The only reason this did not get a higher rating was because of the breakfast. It was hosted at a local golf course, but the food was similar to a Denny's. You get a choice of 3 meals and the service was pretty slow.
The Iao valley was a beautiful area. We did that separately from the tour.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    32
    18
    9
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Road to Hana”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We won a free Road to Hana tour, so decided to take it, as it would save us driving ourselves, and so we could watch the scenery and not the road. Our driver was very knowledgeable, and provided a detailed commentary on plants, trees, flowers, legends, and history for most of this all day trip (although some may find this annoying).

Pros: Scenery is amazing, as is the contrast from rain forest to desert. Lunch was good (they have apparently switched to a new venue), with a healthy buffet selection if you have purchased that option. Commentary was very informative, especially if you get Larry our guide – he also took the time to get to know everyone, and finished the tour, when we were all feeling tired, with his own selection of Hawaiian music. It saves having to drive yourself.

Cons: The bus is very, very cramped for 20+ passengers with no space for bags (even worse than United Airlines); some seats had even less foot room due to the wheel arches. Breakfast was basic, coffee, fruit and muffins, in a rest stop along with many other tour buses. All the stops on the trip are rushed except for lunch, for example no time to get down to the Black Sand Beach, no time to see all of the O'heo Stream and Pools (and swimming was closed due to excessive rain the preceding week). There was not stop at the Hasegawa General Store, we just drove by.


If you do go, understand that this is mostly a one-day drive, with short stops, and try and get a seat on the drivers side, as you will get the ocean view all away round the tour. The road is a windy and bumpy, but that’s part of the fun of the tour.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Haleakala, Central Maui and Iao Valley Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We are a family of four and we signed on for this tour during the week we were on Maui. It was a good choice for us because, although we had visited the island before, we didn' know as much about the place, its history or its people. Our tour guide, Cheryl, was very well informed and very patient with my mother's many questions.

the tour was long - we were picked up at our hotel at 6:45 and dropped of at 4 pm but we saw a lot and learned a lot. We were not lucky with the weather at the top of Haleakela - it was cloudy and we couldn't see the crater but that really didn't detract too much from the tour - it was just a reminder of the island's natural beauty.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Haleakala Sunset Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My daughter and myself booked the Haleakala Sunset tour as a shore excursion on the Pride of America cruise ship. The tour operator was Polynesian Adventure Tours and this was the first time we had dealt with them. The tour was excellent and our driver, Henry, was informative and had a sense of humour I really enjoyed, but it might not be to everyone's taste. The trip up to the summit of Haleakala is great, the different scenery and vegetation on the climb changes every few bends and the contrast between the foot of the mountain and the summit is amazing. You definitely need to wear warm clothes as it gets very cold, zero degree celsius for our sunset. You also need to drink plenty of water and I would recommend taking a water bottle (even though there is a water fountain at the summit) as the water helps if you start feeling dizzy at that altitude. The crater as it is advertised or the depression (more realistic description) as Henry described it is something that has to be seen and I am glad we paid the money to experience this wonder of Maui. I would recommend this tour and Polynesian adventure tours to family and friends.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reisterstown, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“'Road to Hana' tour was EXCELLENT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Fantastic tour with our wonderful tour guide, Tom, who seemed to know everything about Maui history and culture. We were very comfortable on the van and there were always drinks available. The light breakfast was enjoyable but the lunch at the Organic Farm was outstanding! We had plenty of stops for pictures and use of the restrooms along the way.
My husband was so glad we took the tour because he got to see all the beautiful sights as well. Otherwise he would have been too busy paying attention to all the twist, turns and one way bridges on Hana Road.
I highly, highly recommend everyone to take the tour, learn the history of Maui and leave the driving to someone else!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polynesian Adventure Tours also viewed

 
Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Polynesian Adventure Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Polynesian Adventure Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.