We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rare find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thompson Ranch Riding Stables

Thompson Ranch Riding Stables
Central Box Plant Road, Kahului, Maui, HI 96790
(808) 878-1910
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #192 of 357 Outdoor Activities in Maui
Attraction details
Zürich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Rare find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

It's just too good to be true. This is a truely authentic place, with very nice kept horses, a ranch as you would hope it still exists. Jerry and Toni are wonderful people, and their location boasts great views.
I have been out for a 2 hour ride, guided by Toni. The terrain is not flat or easy - no fast paces, but it is worth every minute, fantastic views, nice animals and hosts which are so authentic and charming it's hard to leave.
I will definitely come back with the family - even the long way from Switzerland is worth it !
If you visit Maui and are at all interested in a horseback tour - this is the one to go for (and i have been riding with others, too).
Thanks Toni and Jerry for the fantastic experience !

Johannes

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    1
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Trail Ride for Kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We had a fantastic excursion to the Thompson Ranch- a quaint and rustic working ranch on the slopes of Haleakala. The ride had breathtaking views, lovely mountain scenery, and very friendly and knowledgeable guide (Toni). We were with our kids (ages 6 and 8), and were a little apprehensive, since they had never ridden by themselves before. With Toni's help, the kids got the hang of it almost immediately, and were off. The nice part was that it just our family, so the horses and ride were tailored for us, and we could go at our own pace- I would recommend this, especially with kids. It was an experience of a lifetime for them.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best thing we did in Maui”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Gosh, I don't even know how to start. I NEVER write reviews either good or bad, but I just felt compelled to write this one. I took our party of 8 which included my husband and 4 girls (ages 5-18) and my best friend and god son only two of us jad ever ridden. We had those who REALLY didn't want to go, those who couldn't wait to go, and all in between. Everyone loved it! Everyone. First, it is absolutely gorgeous on the Thompson Ranch. It borders the national forest and It's the greenest pastures I've ever seen. It's not a tourists' attraction. It's a working farm of a lovely family, and somehow we were (and you could) given a glimpse of rural Hawaiian life at its best. You are surrounded by pastoral beauty seeing lush green pastures, the whole valley, and the ocean on each side of maui...And, cows, goats, turkeys, and chickens. Our kids loved the livestock ESP their pet pig, Oinkee (a wild pig they found and raised). Honestly, the best view Of the trip. The trail is a steep one and how the horses navigate it is truly a testament to their fortified and training. The Thompson's only do a couple of tours a week at best, do call early, because you might not get them on the first try.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Outdoor fun for the whole family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Horseback riding at the Thompson Ranch was a very nice change of scenery from the usual Maui beach and pool routine. We did a lot of research and calling around before we booked our trip. There are a few ranches (like Ironwood) which are much closer, but Thompson is the only place with a few horses that are great with little kids (5+ years). It's a 1h 15m drive from Kaanapali and a great opportunity to visit other places like Makawao and the Surfing Goat Dairy along the way. Gerry and his family are very friendly, right from the reservation to the ride. The trail is steep and offers a fantastic view of the island. The ride itself is pretty easy-paced and customized to the skill level of the riders. Given that they don't advertise, the groups are usually pretty small. The family had a great time and we would definitely go back on our next trip.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Thompson Ranch Riding Stables Maui”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

After a few calls back and forth, we were set for a 10 am ride on the west side of Haneakala. The views were amazing- ocean below, clouds above and grassland pastures with eucalyptus and pine trees. It was a bit cooler on the mtn so that was nice too.
Jerry Thompson and his daughter, Andi took us out on their own working ranch- cows, chickens, a pig, goats and turkeys. Jerry has raised his horses from colts and takes such good care of the animals. He taught my daughters, 8 and 10, the basics of riding and coached them the whole two hour ride. They loved it! $100 for two hours of riding- the going rate in Maui.

He provided juice and chips at the end of the ride while we watched him feed and remove the saddles before letting the horses back into the open range. Gorgeous horse conditions.

4.5 instead of 5 stars because no helmets for the kids available (not sure if any stables here have helmets avail) and we opted for great views and surrounding beauty, but that includes a switchback climb up part of Haleakala. The horses were surefooted and amazing, but it was a real ride not a lazy walk on a path- which we preferred.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thompson Ranch Riding Stables also viewed

 

Been to Thompson Ranch Riding Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thompson Ranch Riding Stables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.