We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of my trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Molokini Crater

Molokini Crater
Maui, HI
1-808-242-0955
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$153*
and up
Molokini and Kealewai Snorkel Cruise
Ranked #83 of 313 things to do in Maui
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Snorkeling, Scuba diving
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Highlight of my trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Taking a boat out to the crater was amazing!!! I was blown away by colorful reef and all the assortment of fish that were swimming there. Absolutely beautiful. We got to snorkel there for quite a bit then on our way back to shore, we stopped halfway through to watch sea turtles and we saw a family of 3 including a baby turtle right underneath us. One of them swam up right by me, it was amazing to see! Definitely a worthwile

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    78
    45
    37
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgton, Maine
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Interesting but not outstanding”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The seas were very rough but the crater was pretty calm so after a wild ride out, it felt good to be in flat waters. The reef and water clarity were good. We saw a variety of fish but no great numbers. This trip was like Maui - right at the point of being over used. If development continues here, Molokini and the rest of the island will be a big human zoo.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisiana
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The best crew ever through the pacific whale foundation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

If we would not have the greatest crew there is no way I would have been able to snorkel at the Molokini Crater. I can't remember the boat but we booked with NCL Pride of America as a shore excursion and the crew is with the Pacific Whale Foundation. I can remember, Jessica, Weldon, (it may have been the Odyessy, but not sure) We did the excursion morning of Sunday, February 24th. Now I can't wait to snorkel again.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Meh.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This was probably the biggest disappointments of our trip. There was a lot of hype leading up to it. We went on the Frogman boat, booked through Boss Frogs, which also stopped at Turtle Town. I don't know if the weather had a lot to do with it, but the snorkeling was very poor. We saw maybe 3 different kinds of fish. The water was choppy but not that bad. There were WAAAY too many people there and I kept getting kicked or cut off. Then on to Turtle Town - another let down. The water was calm and clear and we saw 2 turtles. There were way more of them on the little beach in front of our condo!! If you do decide to go, don't go with Frogman - the boat was overcrowded, lots of people standing and lunch was a cold cut sandwich and some chips - the other boats around us were BBQing! Very disappointing.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best snorkeling ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Used Trade Winds II to go there and back. The snorkeling was fantastic - lots of fish and clearest waters I've ever seen.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Molokini Crater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Molokini Crater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.