We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best part of our vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mahana Naia Charters

The Mahana Naia Charters
P.O. Box 550, Kahului, Maui, HI 96732-2997
808-871-8636
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #145 of 486 Activities in Maui
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fun filled Snorkeling adventure to Molokini Crater and Turtle reef.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best part of our vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My Wife and I recently went on this snorkel trip while visiting Maui. It turned out to be our favorite activity of our vacation. The crew was amazing and very catering. Gary gave us the most entertaining snorkel briefing ever. Molokini was crystal clear and calm as a swimming pool. The second spot had tons of turtles. Jason, the boat's photographer, took us on a reef tour and gave us a hands-on experience with starfish and other aquatic life. He really made the trip! We bought his photo package(included hundreds of beautiful shots) and we couldn't recommend it enough! The boat ride was smooth and the uncrowded boat made it even more relaxing. Overall, I would choose this trip even if it was the only activity we did while on Maui!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    9
    2
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Go for the experience, not the snorkeling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The overall experience was cool but th snorkeling spots weren't the greatest. Not a big variety of fish/sealife.
We did see dolphins on the way to Malokini which was great.
The crew was helpful and friendly. The photographer(Jason) that was onboard came off as rude and arrogant.

Take this tour for the overall experience. We had better snorkeling just offshore.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic trip, awesome crew,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Just got back from the Molokini snorkel trip and had a wonderful time! The crew was very accomodating and made sure everyone was having fun. Great deli lunch,too! It's a must do! Highly recommend the Mahana Nai'a!

Christine

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Would go again and again!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My husband and I booked this snorkeling package and had a great time. The crew was sooooo funny and so accomodating. They made our trip extra special. Snorkeling was amazing in Moloknini's crystal clear waters. We even seen a shark!!!! The sea life is so diverse in Maui. I would go again and again until they get sick of me. We went to "turtle ghetto" - did not dissapoint. We seen friendly sea turtles and it was not busy. Turtle town had tons of boats and people and in Turtle Ghetto it was just us - which is really nice. The boat itself had only 20 something people which felt like a nice number. Another boat had over 100 people and it felt like to was too choatic over on the other boat. One of the crew members snorkeled with us and took tons of pictures of the snorkelers and the sea life. We bought the CD (over 100 picutres) and it was worth it!!! Love our pictures. Our boat, the crew, the fish, the overall experience was amazing and I would highly recommend this snorkeling adventure to anyone and everyone.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Mahana Nai'a and excellent crew”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Out of the many brochures available to choose a snorkel adventure/boating excursion in Maui we chose one recommended by an acquaintance at the hotel. The Mahana Nai'a is a family owned and operated boat with an excellent crew. We had the pleasure of Fish (the captain), Gary and Dave. They not only were professional, they made the trip fun and comfortable. Light breakfast, lunch (pasta salad, chips and make your own sandwich) and all the drinks were included along with snorkel gear and noodles. You could rent a wet suit for $10 if you chose but there really wasn't a need as the water was great! The boat accomodated 25 people for our excursion which was quite nice compared to some of the other boats that seemed more like cattle boats with 50+ people on board. I highly recommend the MAHANA NAI'A!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mahana Naia Charters also viewed

 

Been to The Mahana Naia Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mahana Naia Charters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.