We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best excursion of the entire trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lahaina Stables

Lahaina Stables
Maui, HI
808-667-2222
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Expedia
Book a Tour
Ranked #101 of 486 Activities in Maui
Type: Horseback Riding Stables, Sports
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reston, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best excursion of the entire trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My younger sister has long been obsessed with horses, so when she suggested a horseback ride in Maui I did some research and found Lahaina Stables online. We opted for the sunset ride, which turned out to be a great decision since riding in the hot Hawaiian sun would have been unpleasant.

Our guide, Char, gave us a quick lesson and basically told us to just man up and mount up (in a nice way!) The horses were so well trained they were gentle giants, but it's still a little nervewracking for a novice like myself.

Once the group got their ponies under control, we rode for about two hours stopping for a snack halfway. The terrain is a little challenging, some steep hills and rocky paths, but the horses handled it well.

The views of the ocean and sunset were stunning. Totally worth the trek up the mountain. Of all the add-ons we did on our visit to Maui, we enjoyed the horseback ride the most. It was certainly memorable and worth the expense!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    33
    3
    2
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent views, great guides.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Went on the sunset ride. We had a great time. We had a mix of beginners and long time riders in our family. Kerry and Ellen were great and they matched the horses to our abilities perfectly.
Views are really amazing. You could see whales breaching below and rainbows in the mountains. Horses were sure footed and knew the trail.
There is dust so be warned. It was not bad but don't plan on doing anything else after the ride until you change your clothes.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Point
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Went for the morning ride with my two sons. We had a great time. Can't say enough for our guides Seth and Ms. Carey. The other reviews say all you need to know about the view and the horses. Bottom line for us was the warm welcome of the guides and their desire to make it a great experience.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Horse heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Well cared, healthy, very happy horses. Ellen is an excellent guide with lots of knowledge of the area. Views are incredible. If you love horses, hiking, or simply love a good nature experience with great vistas and views you will love your experience here!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A highlight of trip to Maui!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

What an absolutely wonderful experience. We had the most amazing 2 hour sunset ride with our guide Ellen. We rode with 2 other couples which made it more intimate. Ellen was amazing, so personable and super knowledgeable about horses and Maui. The horses are just beautiful and you can tell they are well loved! The views along the ride are spectacular. You take a break at the mountain reservoir and before we headed back down, Ellen took amazing pictures of my husband and myself. Ms. Dixie and Hana were picture perfect. Once back in the stables, you get a chance to bond with your horses and any others (give them cookies) which they loved. We took additional pictures there as well. A definite to do again when we return! Thanks you Ellen, Ms. Dixie and Han and Lahaina Stables for a memory of a lifetime.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lahaina Stables also viewed

Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Lahaina Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lahaina Stables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.