We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A view to a chill!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mt. Haleakala

Mt. Haleakala
Maui, HI
Update attraction details
Ranked #29 of 229 attractions in Maui
Type: Mountains
Attraction Details
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A view to a chill!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We drove here early in the morning to view the famous sunrise over Mt Haleakala. We left Mariott in Lahaina around 4:30am to watch the sunrise at 6:15. The trip took about 1 1/2 hr and the foggy drive didn't help at all. Good thing we have GPS coz it helped mapped out the road to the summit which is dark, narrow and some areas without guard rails! Parking lots tend to get filled out fast so to avoid walking some hundred yards, arrive early. We brought lite jackets and pants and beanies but no match to the chilly 30ish temp at the summit. Leave your hawaiian shirt and shorts in the hotel, you'll thank me later. Bring hot drinks and foods for breakfast as I didn't see a Resto there. Awesome plant and bird species only found at that elevation. Take lots of pictures. Awesome view of Maui from 10,000 ft.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    25
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Well worth the drive!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My husband and I didn't get up early but we enjoyed our 1/2 day spent on Haleakula. There is one picnic table at the Visitor's Centre where we made coffee from our thermos.
We then went up to the top and savoured the views. Would have liked to walk into the crater but it was very hot so we only took photos.
A very unique area and a must see.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Truly Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We left our hotel in Kihei around 2:30 am to drive up. We got there plenty early enough, so we took a nap in the car before heading up to the lookout point. We both brought warm clothing (heavy winter coats, long pants, gloved, etc. and we were still freezing. I definitely suggest taking a spare blanket from the hotel. I can't even put into words how magnificent this experience was - our pictures don't even do it justice. Definitely a must-do!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“You have get up early, but it is worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We got up at 3 am to get to Mt. Haleakala before the 5:58 SunRise, and it was worth it. The road from Kihei is well maked with signs. Once you reach the top there are two parking lots a 20 car lot at the summit ( luckly you) they close the road up to the summit once they THINK that lot is full, if you don't have a tradition spot just double park, everyone leaves by 6:20; and about a 100 car lot .2 km below the summit. Either lot will be just fine. Find a place on the rail and wait.

As the sun creeps over the cloud, a local tour guide sang a welcome to a new day...that was very nice. The pictures we got were stunning!

On the way down we stopped at the Laverder farm, for fresh coffee, fresh bread and a rest stop break.

We were back at our Condo by 8:45 and spend the rest of the day at the ocean.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Go...in the morning or evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Do yourself a favor and don't try to go here during midday...you're just going to see a lot of clouds until you reach about 9700' (near the top). I have heard that sunrise and sunset are the best times to go, and we regret not going then. Also, watch out for the insane amount of cyclists on their way down.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mt. Haleakala also viewed

 

Been to Mt. Haleakala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt. Haleakala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.